April 5, 2007

Incumbents Ousted In City, School Board Election Races

Less than 40 percent of registered voters made it to the polls on Tuesday, but those who did get out and vote on April 3rd voiced their desire for change at both the school and municipal levels.

Former FFA advisor Bill Cottrell was elected to the Scotland County R-I Board of Education just months after his mid-year resignation following a review of his conduct by the SCR-I school board.

Cottrell received 383 votes to secure one of the two available seats on the board.

Stacy Alexander won the second seat, narrowly outdistancing incumbent David Kirkpatrick by a 350 to 345 margin.

A total of eight candidates for the two vacancies insured that it took just 19.57 percent of the ballots cast to land Cottrell on the board.

Teresa L. Creek was fourth in total votes received, garnering 293. She was followed by incumbent Doug Shalley with 249 votes, Chris Montgomery with 124 votes, Rich Rader with 117 votes and Douglas Byrn with 93 votes.

The City of Memphis will also be swearing in two new officials at the April city council meeting.

Incumbent Ronald G. Gardner was defeated by William Reckenberg in a close race. Reckenberg received 120 votes to 101 for Gardner. Former alderman and Memphis mayor Mike Stone received 56 votes.

On the other side of town, Allen Creek was the people’s choice for west ward alderman. Creek earned 182 votes to 84 for Otho Harbur. Incumbent Lucas Remley did not seek re-election.

Acting city marshal John Myers got the job permanently as he had a nearly 4 to 1 advantage over challenger Chris VanHoozen. Myers earned 403 votes to 106 for VanHoozen.

In the only other race on the Scotland County ballots, Gordon Wiley and Karen Simpson were re-elected to the Arbela board of trustees. Wiley earned 15 votes and Simpson had 10 to edge out Dean Johnson (7 votes) for the two seats on the board.

Granger voters elected Shane Shannan (12 votes), Dana Shannan (11 votes) and Ann Barker (11 votes) to the board of trustees.

Richard Crawford was elected mayor of Gorin with 16 votes while Amanda Adams received three votes to win the east ward alderman job and Tracey Ross was elected to the west ward job with seven votes.

Carol McCabe and Glada Schultz earned two-year terms on the Rutledge board of trustees with 12 and 11 votes respectively.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone