January 25, 2007

April Ballots Take Form as Filing Period Closes

A number of races for the April general election took final form as the candidate-filing period closed with a flourish on January 16th.

Voters in the Scotland County R-I School District will have a large field from which to fill two seats on the school board. Incumbents David Kirkpatrick and Doug Shalley both refiled for a new three-year term. Six other candidates also filed for the two available seats. Filing for school board were Stacy Alexander, Rich Rader, Doug Byrn, Chris Montgomery, Bill Cottrell and Teresa Creek.

The Gorin R-III School District will not have its ballot issue placed on the April 3 election. The district had just three candidates file for the three openings on the districtís board of education.

Ryan Miller and Tracey Ross filed for the two three-year terms on the board and Rexann Roach filed for the one-year unexpired term.

Because there are no races for any of the seats, Missouri law states the issue does not need to be on the ballot.

The city of Memphis will have three races decided in April as voters will elect a new west ward alderman and will also decide the east ward and city marshal races.

West ward alderman Lucas Remley did not refile for a new two-year term. He will be replaced by either Otho Harbur or Allen Creek.

Interim city marshal John Myers is seeking the office in April. He is being challenged by former police officer Chris Van Hoozen.

East Ward Alderman Ron Gardner filed for reelection. He will be challenged by a pair of former aldermen. William Reckenberg and Mike Stone both filed for the office.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone