November 16, 2006

Hejna, Cook, Dunker, Wood Close Out Pepsi Scotland County Speedway Season With Wins

by Brian Neal

Memphis, MO (Nov. 5) - Sunday’s afternoon races brought the 2006 racing season to a close for both the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway and the O’Reilly United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS). Picking up feature wins on the final night of the Pepsi / Mt. Dew Mid-America Nationals were Al Hejna (O’Reilly USMTS Modifieds), Ryan Cook (USRA Stock Cars), Tony Dunker (Toni Dunker Advance Trading USRA B-Modifieds) and Nathan Wood (USRA Hobby Stocks).

The first feature of the night was the 15-lap USRA Hobby Stocks, with Adam Birck and Beau Taylor on the front row. But it was fourth place starter Nathan Wood grabbing the lead on the drop of the green flag. Wood would go on to lead all 15 laps to pick up the feature win. Jim Tull came from eighth to finish in second, John Oliver Jr. started eleventh and finished in third, Jimmy Hayes came from the rear after a lap-3 crash to finish in fourth, with Bob Lynch rounding out the top five.

Zack VanderBeek and Jason Cook started the 15-lap USRA Stock Car feature on the front row, with Jason edging out VanderBeek by half a car length to lead lap 1. VanderBeek would come back on the bottom, with Jason in the middle and Ryan Cook up top to take over the top spot on lap 2. But Ryan would take the lead on lap 3 up top, with VanderBeek coming back on the bottom of the speedway to take over the top spot on lap 5. VanderBeek then held the lead until lap 10 when he pulled out with mechanical troubles. Ryan would inherit the lead and then held off a last lap challenge from Donovan Lodge to claim the win. Jason held on for third, Toby Johnson was fourth, with Troy Alexander coming home in fifth.

Up next was the 15-lap Toni Dunker Advance Trading USRA B-Modified feature, with Tony Dunker and Joe Hooper leading the field to the drop of the green flag. Dunker would take advantage of his starting spot to jump out front on lap 1. Dunker would go on to lead all 15 laps to claim the feature win. Wyatt Lantz was second, Jack Evans, Jr. came from ninth to finish in third, Gary Wilson started tenth and finished in fourth, with Hooper holding on for the fifth spot.

The final feature of the night was the 35-lap O’Reilly USMTS, with Mark Schulte and Tony Fraise drawing the front row for the event. Fraise would grab the lead on the drop of the green flag and then held it until lap 3, when Al Hejna slipped under him for the top spot. Al would go on to lead the final 32 laps to pick up his second consecutive O’Reilly USMTS win. Fraise held on for second, Michael Long came home in third, Mark Noble came from eleventh to finish in fourth, with Tommy Myer coming from thirteenth to round out the top five.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone