October 19, 2006

Conference Champs Dominate Tri-Rivers Post-Season Honors

A perfect record and yet another berth in the Missouri state softball playoffs helped insure that Putnam County would dominate the post-season awards in the Tri-Rivers Conference.

The Lady Midgets went 7-0 in league play earning five of the 12 first team all-conference awards.

Scotland County had two players named second team all conference. Sophomore Deidra Dochterman and junior Kirsten Johnston were honored by the league coaches. Dochterman played first base for SCR-I while Johnston made the transition from centerfield to shortstop in 2006.

Senior Karra Small was named to the honorable mention team along with sophomores Tara Matlock and Valerie Oldham. Small handled much of the pitching duties for Scotland County while Matlock played her way into the starting rightfield job midway through the year. Oldham was Scotland Countys clean-up hitter and handled the leftfield job.

Putnam County topped the league with a 7-0 mark and finished 24-2 overall. Clark County finished second in the conference with a 6-1 record and went 13-8 overall. There was a three-way tie for third with Brookfield (6-16), North Shelby (17-7) and Schuyler County (15-6) all finishing with 4-3 marks in league play. Knox County (4-14), Milan (6-15) and SCR-I (7-13) all went 1-6 in conference action.

North Shelbys Kelsey Resa was named the leagues most valuable player. Mike Schmidlli of Putnam County was again named coach of the year.

First Team PUTNAM COUNTY: Stacy Hines, Soph., Mandy Frost, Sr., Courtney Hatfield, Sr., Julie Wilkerson, Sr., and Tessa Casady, Jr.; SCHUYLER COUNTY: Tara Verkiulen, Jr.; CLARK COUNTY: Kassi Kigar, Sr., Courtney Shuman, Sr., and Deondra Bertelli, Sr.; NORTH SHELBY: Misty Miller, Jr.; BROOKFIELD: Britenee Craig, Sr.

Second Team SCHUYLER COUNTY: Tensel Sandker, Sr., Jackie Roberts, Jr., and Margie Parsons; PUTNAM COUNTY: Katie Steele, Soph., Britney Casady, Jr., and Ashlen Gardner, Jr.; MILAN: Brooke Bankus, Sr. KNOX COUNTY: J. Schultz, Sr.; BROOKFIELD: A. Teter, Soph., and M. Hicks, Sr.; SCR-I: Kirsten Johnston, Jr., Valerie Oldham, Soph., and Deidra Dochterman, Soph.



Please call or email { 660.465.7016 or chris@memphisdemocrat.com } with questions about advertising or to start advertising with Memphis Democrat today!

$4.50 per column inch
$4.50 per column inch (Classified)
$0.08 each for pre-printed mailer inserts
$0.12 per word for text only Classifieds

$20 for One Spot Color
$50 for Full-Color Process


per month for text only business directory ad.

$25 per month small ad
$35 per month medium ad
$50 per month large ad
$75 per month skyscraper ad
$125 per month top banner ad
$135 per month top banner ad

MEDIUM (160×250)
LARGE (300X250)
SKYSCRAPER (160×500)
TOP BANNER AD (728×60)
BANNER AD (728×90)

small-ad-160x160md-ad-160x250lg-ad-300x250sky-ad-160x500top-ad-728x60 banner-ad-728x90

Your Name (required):

Your Email (required):

Ad Size:

Ad Content

If you have an image to include in your ad, browse to find the file.

Please enter the text you see in the field below, then click send.


Bb Server