October 5, 2006

Track Champions Crowned at Pepsi Scotland County Speedway

by Brian Neal

Memphis, MO (Sept. 30) - The 2006 Cunningham Fertilizer Season Championship Night was finally put into the books at the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway (Memphis, MO), after a rain out back on August 26th. One hundred fifty drivers turned out to witness the lighting of the new MUSCO lights, along with the crowning of the 2006 Track Champions. Taking home feature wins on the night were Steve Breazaele (Mid-America 305 Sprints), Tony Fraise (Bentz GM Country USRA Modifieds), Matt Greiner (USRA Stock Cars), Jim Gillenwater (Toni Dunker Advance Trading USRA B-Modifieds), Jimmy Hayes (USRA Hobby Stocks), Brad Weber (Outlaw Hobby Stocks) and Gordon Blankenship Jr. (Hornets).

The first feature of the night was the 15-lap Toni Dunker Advance Trading USRA B-Modifieds, with Brandon Savage and Jim Gillenwater drawing the front row. Gillenwater took advantage of his front row starting spot to grab the lead on lap 1. Gillenwater would pull away from the field to lead all 15 laps to pick up his third win on the season at the speedway. The 2006 Track Champion, Tony Dunker, who started 12th, crossed the line in second, Savage held on for third, Joe Hooper came from 13th to finish in 4th, with Porter Collins rounding out the top five.

Dale Porter and Ethan Hustead led the field to the drop of the green flag in the 10-lap Hornet feature, with Porter jumping out front on lap 1. Porter would hold the lead for one lap, as Gordon Blankenship Jr., who started seventh, quickly moved up to take over the top spot on lap 2. Blankenship Jr. then pulled away on the final eight laps to claim his third win of 2006 at Memphis. Porter held on for second, Chuck Fullenkamp was third, Travis DeMint was fourth, with Brent Hartley coming home in fifth. Andrew Hustead came home in sixth and was crowned the 2006 Track Champion.

Up next was the 12-lap USRA Hobby Stock feature, with Bill Gibson and Jimmy Hayes making up the front row. Hayes moved out front on lap 1, with Gibson and Mike Shelton battling for second. Hayes would go on to lead all 12 laps and held off a last lap challenge from Shelton to claim his second win of the season at the track. Gibson would hold on for third, Bob Lynch was fourth, with Tim Kraber coming home in fifth. Nathan Wood would finish in sixth and locked up his third track championship on the 2006 season. Steve Allen and Kraber would pick up the heat race wins.

The best feature of the night was the 18-lap Stock Car feature, as Toby Johnson, Jason Cook and Matt Greiner put on a show for the lead from the drop of the green until the checkered flag. Johnson and Cook started the event on the front row, with Cook taking the early lead. Johnson would slip under Cook on lap 3 to grab the top spot, but Cook wouldn’t give up. Johnson and Cook battled side-by-side, with Greiner, who started tenth, moving in to make it a three way battle for the top spot. Greiner, who ran the bottom of the speedway, and Johnson, who was up top, ran laps ten thru fifteen side-by-side, before Greiner finally took the lead. Greiner then held off Johnson and Cook over the final three laps to pick up his sixth win of the season at the track. Jason Cook’s third place finish was good enough for him to claim his second consecutive track championship at Memphis. Mike Harward would come home in fourth, with Ryan Cook rounding out the top five.

Steve Breazeale and Louis Lynch led the field to the drop of the green flag in the 20-lap Mid-America 305 Sprint feature, with Breazeale jumping out front on lap 1. Breazaele would go on to hold off Jonathan Cornell throughout the entire 20 laps to pick up the win. Marty Stephenson would come home in third, Jack Potter came from eleventh to finish in fourth, with Mark Widmar coming from tenth to round out the top five. Breazaele, Monty Hill and Widmar each picked up a heat race win.

The 15-lap Outlaw Hobby Stock feature saw Brian Clark and Jake Wenig drawing the front row, with Wenig moving out front on lap 1. Wenig would go on to lead all 15 laps to cross the finish line in first. But a post race inspection found Wenig’s car to have an illegal carburetor, giving the win to second place finisher Brad Weber. Tim Dawson was moved up to second, with third going to Beau Taylor, who started eleventh, Rodger Dresden came from twentieth to finish in fourth, with Michael St. Calir coming home in fifth. Taylor’s third place finish was more then enough for him to pick up his first track championship.

The final feature of the night was the scheduled 20-lap Bentz GM Country USRA Modifieds. Tony Fraise and Jared Durbin drew the front row for the event, with Fraise taking advantage of his start to grab the lead on lap 1. Fraise, in his newly purchased Skyrocket Chassis, continued to pace the field, as Martin Bennett, who started twelfth, was working his way to the front. Fraise was able to hold on in a shortened feature to claim his sixth win of 2006 at Memphis. Martin Bennett finished a close second, Mike Bennett was third, Matt Greiner came from eleventh to finish in fourth, with Durbin holding on for fifth. Ryan Meyer crossed the finish line in tenth, which was enough for him to hold on for the 2006 Track Championship.

Coming up next at the Pepsi Scotland County Speedway is the 2nd Annual Pizza Hut Fall Nationals on October 12-14. Practice night for all classes will be held on Wednesday, October 11 from 5:30 p.m. until 9:30 p.m. Qualifying for the Modifieds, Stock Cars, B-Modifieds, Hobby Stocks, Outlaw Hobby Stocks and Hornets will get underway on Thursday, October 12. Then on Friday, October 13 the Late Models will be racing in a complete show, which pays $2,000 to win. Then on Saturday, October 14 will be last chance races for the final features which pays the Modifieds $5,000 to win, Stock Cars $2,000, B-Modifieds going for $1,000, Hobby Stocks for $600, Outlaw Hobby Stocks for $700 and Hornets for $300. Plus the Late Models racing for $3,000 to win. Races on Thursday and Friday gets underway at 6 p.m and then on Saturday at 5 p.m.

2006 Track Champions

Bentz GM Country USRA Modifieds: #82M - Ryan Meyer, Liberty, IL

USRA Stock Cars: #27J -Jason Cook, Mt. Pleasant, IA

Toni Dunker Advance Trading USRA B-Modifieds: #4 - Tony Dunker, Quincy, IL

USRA Hobby Stocks: #52 - Nathan Wood, Sigourney, IA

Outlaw Hobby Stocks: #2T - Beau Taylor, Canton

Hornets: #20 - Andrew Hustead, Rutledge

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone