March 23, 2006

Three SCR-I Players Earn All District Basketball Honors

The Northeast Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association honored three Scotland County players among its selections for the 2006 All-District basketball teams that were announced March 21st.

Ali Fromm was named to the Class 2 Northeast All-District First Team. The top squad was once again dominated by Clopton, which defeated SCR-I in sectional play in the state playoffs before finishing second overall. Seniors Mikal Bencomo, Alicia Wheeler, and Alicia Turner of Clopton were all named to the first team. Senior Rachel Moore and sophomore Erin Mayes of South Shelby were also named to the first team along with Tri-Rivers Conference representatives Tahnee Poe, a sophomore from Schuyler County, Trisha Bohle, a senior from Milan and Stephanie Hicks, a senior from Knox County.

Angie Bulen, a senior at SCR-I was named to the second team. She was joined by Emily Holt, a junior and Kelsey Henke, a senior, both from Marceline, freshman Deavan Omohundro and senior Megan Nacke of Clopton, Dannielle Caldwell, a sophomore, and Haley Mims, a senior, both from Canton, and Samantha Shaw, a senior from Milan.

Ed Lindsay of Clopton was named the girls Coach of the Year.

Sectional opponents Canton and Van Far were the big winners on the boysí side of the awards.

Van Farís standout, senior Mike Smith, headlined the all-district first team. He was joined by Canton seniors Jordan Ayers and Adam Potts. Rounding out the first team were twin brothers David and Matthew Fouch, juniors at LaPlata, and sophomore Joe Gillam of Paris.

Jared Shaller, a senior from Canton started the list of second-team honorees. Alex Bencomo, a junior from Clopton, Matt Patterson, a freshman from South Shelby, and William Ransdell, a freshman from Paris also were named to the second team. The Tri-Rivers Conference placed five players on the post-season list, headed by Scotland Countyís Cody Musgrove. Other league players on the awards list were Vance Profitt, a senior from Milan, Dennis Dent, a freshman from Knox County, and freshman Jacob Winkler and senior Jake Fowler both from Schuyler County.

Cantonís Andy Anderson was named the Class 2 boys Coach of the Year.



Please call or email { 660.465.7016 or } with questions about advertising or to start advertising with Memphis Democrat today!

$4.50 per column inch
$4.50 per column inch (Classified)
$0.08 each for pre-printed mailer inserts
$0.12 per word for text only Classifieds

$20 for One Spot Color
$50 for Full-Color Process


per month for text only business directory ad.

$25 per month small ad
$35 per month medium ad
$50 per month large ad
$75 per month skyscraper ad
$125 per month top banner ad
$135 per month top banner ad

LARGE (300X250)
TOP BANNER AD¬†(728×60)
BANNER AD¬†(728×90)

small-ad-160x160md-ad-160x250lg-ad-300x250sky-ad-160x500top-ad-728x60 banner-ad-728x90

Your Name (required):

Your Email (required):

Ad Size:

Ad Content

If you have an image to include in your ad, browse to find the file.

Please enter the text you see in the field below, then click send.


Bb Server