November 9, 2006

Voters Head To Local Polls In Mass For November 7th Election

A number of highly-charged races brought out an unusually high number of Scotland County voters for an off-year election. Unofficial results Tuesday evening had 1,814 ballots cast in the county, representing 61.18 percent of the registered voters.

Voters decided two local races and also cast their votes on a number of key state and national contests.

Democrat Dana Glasscock will be the Scotland County Recorder of Deeds. She received 1,124 votes to defeat Republican Teresa Rockhold who had 631 votes.

The other contested race saw incumbent Betty Lodewegen retain her post as county clerk. She defeated Democratic challenger Ellen Clark by a 1,017 – 699 vote margin.

Statewide totals were not available at press time.

Scotland County voters backed incumbent Brian Munzlinger (R-Lewistown) for First District State Representative. He earned 1,011 votes to 762 for Beau Hicks, (D-Ewing).

The state senate race was much closer in Scotland County. Wes Shoemyer (D-Clarence) edged out Bob Behnen (R-Kirksville) locally by an 885-853 advantage.

Local voters also selected a Democrat in the state auditor race, backing Susan Montee (820 votes) instead of Republican Sandra Thomas (760 votes). Libertarian Charles Baum earned 51 votes and Progressive party candidate Terry Bunker earned 25 votes.

At the national level, U.S. Representative Kenny Hulshof was favored by local voters by a nearly 2:1 ratio. The incumbent received 1,072 votes to just 604 for Democratic challenger Duane Burghard.

Another incumbent Republican did well in Scotland County as local voters gave the nod to U.S. Senator Jim Talent with 971 votes to 732 votes for Democrat Claire McCaskill.

In the unopposed local races it was Presiding Commissioner Mike Stephenson earning 1,432 votes. Circuit Clerk Anita Watkins was re-elected with 1,556 votes while Associate Circuit Judge Karl DeMarce received 1,566 votes. Prosecuting Attorney Kim Nicoli earned 1,355 votes. Collector of Revenue Kathy Becraft was marked on 1,574 ballots while County Treasurer LaMayra Brown earned 1,477 votes.

Scotland County voters said no to Amendment 2, “the cloning bill” by nearly a 2:1 ratio. A total of 1,079 no votes were received with just 696 yes votes.

The same was true for Amendment 3, which called for an increase in the tobacco tax. Locals voted 1,030 times against the measure with 721 yes votes cast.

The remaining three measures on the ballot passed locally. Amendment 6 earned 975 yes votes to 707 no votes. Amendment 7 received even more support, with 1,391 votes to just 302 no votes.

Proposition B, which called for an increase in the state’s minimum wage level, passed locally by a 1,059 to 678 margin.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone