August 10, 2006

Glasscock, Rockhold, Clark Win Local Races In Primary Election

As predicted, the race for the newly formed recorder of deeds office was the most contested race in the Scotland County August 8th Primary Election, with just under 30 percent of local voters going to the polls.

The majority of local voters cast ballots on the Democratic ticket, as in the primary election voters were required to select only one party ticket.

A total of 740 democratic ballots were cast but it took less than 10 to decide the party’s candidate for recorder of deeds. Dana Glasscock prevailed with 275 votes to narrowly edge out Kathy Campbell with 267 votes and Karen Kraus with 189 votes.

The only other contested local race on the ticket was for county clerk where Ellen Clark earned 479 votes to 179 votes for Christy Shelley.

Several incumbents were the lone name on the party’s ballot and will run unopposed in November as well. Collector of Revenue Kathy Becraft garnered 647 votes. County Treasurer LaMayra Brown received 607 votes while Associate Circuit Judge Karl DeMarce had his named punched 645 times on the ballot. Other incumbents on the ballot were presiding commissioner Mike Stephenson (571 votes) prosecuting attorney Kimberly Nicoli (542 votes) and Circuit Clerk Anita Watkins (636 votes).

At the state level Beau Hicks received 522 votes for the First District State Representative post. Claire McCaskill was a 2 to 1 favorite over Bill Clinton Young for the party’s US Senate seat with 416 to 214 votes. Susan Montee was the county’s choice for state auditor with 365 votes to 199 for Darrell Wattenbarger. Duane Burghard received 494 votes for U.S. Representative and Wes Shoemyer earned 509 votes for the state senate position.

There was one lone local race on the Republican ticket. Teresa Rockhold defeated Greta Slocum 108 to 77 to earn her party’s nomination for the recorder of deeds race in November.

Betty Lodewegen earned 171 of the total 194 votes available as she seeks re-election as county clerk.

Brian Munzlinger received 175 votes to return as state representative. Bob Behnen was marked 149 times on the party’s ballot for state senator and Congressman Kenny Hulshof earned 181 votes. Jim Talent easily outdistanced four challengers with 171 votes.

The constitutional amendment #1 to renew the parks and soil and water conservation sales tax was approved by 75 percent of the local voters, earning 645 yes votes to only 213 no votes.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone