April 6, 2006

Voters Make Changes At April 4th Election

There will be a number of new faces in public office in Scotland County following the April 4th election. Voters backed new choices for a number of school and municipal positions as a total of 1074 ballots were cast in the county, or a 37.5 percent voter turnout.

The Scotland County R-I School Board was the big draw for the election as a total of 1,954 votes were cast for two board members. Incumbent Gary Miller was re-elected with the biggest number of votes, 613. But fellow incumbent, board president Ellen Aylward was unseated. She earned 373 votes. Stacy Westhoff will fill the second open seat on the SCR-I board of education after he received 516 votes. Stacy Alexander earned 231 votes while James Kice received 221.

The City of Memphis also had several races for its city council as well as for city marshal.

Voters backed former Missouri State Highway Patrolman Roger Gosney as the new mayor of Memphis. Gosney received 465 votes. Current Mayor Mike Stone, who was appointed to the position after serving several terms as east ward alderman, received 119 votes. Ronald Kice earned 72 votes while Samantha Brush received 37 votes.

In the east ward, incumbent William Reckenberg, who had been appointed to fill Stoneís term, was defeated in a close race by challenger Brian Brush. Brush was backed by 165 votes to 157 for Reckenberg.

There was a four horse race in the west ward for the council position. Incumbent Teresa Skinner did not seek re-election so voters were faced with four new faces. Chris Feeney will fill the two-year term after receiving 161 votes. Thomas Priebe earned 101 votes while Marsha Monroe tallied 57 votes and Robert Monroe had 36 votes.

A similar four-candidate race for city marshal resulted in incumbent Steve Snodgrass earning another term. Snodgrass was the top vote recipient with 278. John Myers tallied 187 votes while Mark Drummondís name was marked on 164 ballots and Michele Millerís name was checked 66 times.

The Village of Rutledge had one of the fullest ballots with six choices for three spots on the board of trustees.

Wesley Weiler (19 votes), David Herr (17 votes) and Gary See (15 votes) will fill the vacancies. Steve Montgomery received 2 votes as did Patsy Montgomery while Neta Phillips received one vote.

Voters in Gorin put their pens to work as blank ballots meant plenty of write-in candidates.

Jerry Jones was declared the winner as mayor after getting 11 votes. Others receiving write-in votes for mayor were Bob Sears (4), Mayor Ross (1), Richard Crawford (2), Tracy Ross (2), Don Tague (1) and Bob Carpenzano (1).

In the west ward Jeanette Rollings received three write-in votes for the one-year alderman term. Tracy Ross received two votes while Mike Cantril and Margaret Davis each had one vote.

In the east ward Jeanette Rollings was a write-in on four ballots. Joyce Carpenzano, Geraldine Davis and Mona Tague each received one vote for the two-year term.

Receiving votes for the one-year term were Amanda Adams (2), Gene Berry (1), Margaret Davis (1), Therse Dively (1) and Mike Shaffer (1).

The elections were fairly tame in Granger and Arbela.

Granger voters elected Richard Byrn (15 votes) and Thomas Shannan (11 votes) for the two openings on the board of trustees.

In Arbela it was Sandra Remley (9 votes), Sheila Remley (8 votes) and Richard Stevenson (11 votes) earning seat on the board of trustees.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone