March 30, 2006

Voters To Decide Municipal, School Issues on Tuesday

Scotland County voters will head to the polls on Tuesday, April 4th to cast ballots in a number of school and municipal elections.

The Scotland County R-I School Board features a race for two seats as five candidates are vying for the pair of three-year terms.

Incumbents Gary Miller and Ellen Aylward are seeking re-election. They are faced on the ballot by Stacy Alexander, James Kice and Stacy Westhoff.

Voters in the Wyaconda C-I District will be filling a name in on the ballot as there is only one official candidate for two vacancies on the school’s board of education. Kathy Calvert is the lone name on the ballot for the two, three-year terms.

One of the municipal elections also has openings on its ballots. The City of South Gorin has a blank ballot on the east side of town. Voters will have to write in a candidate for the two-year term for mayor, a candidate for a one-year unexpired term for east ward alderman as well as a new two-year term for east ward alderman.

The west side of town is in a similar predicament, with Ervin G. Berry being the lone name on the ballot. He is seeking the office of west ward alderman. Voters will write-in a candidate for mayor as well as for a one-year unexpired term for west ward alderman.

The ballots in Granger and Arbela will be a little less difficult for voters to navigate. In the village of Granger there are two candidates for two vacancies on the board of trustees. Thomas Shannan and Richard Byrn are seeking the two available two-year terms.

In Arbela there are three candidates on the ballot for three available seats on the board of trustees. Sandra K. Remley, Sheila Remley and Richard Stevenson filed for the three openings.

The village of Rutledge has one of the largest races on the April 4 election day. Six names are on the ballot for just three openings on the board of trustees. Voters will choose three from among Steve Montgomery, Neta Phillips, Patsy Montgomery, David Herr, Wesley Weiler and Gary See.

The city of Memphis also has plenty of options for voters who will be casting ballots for mayor, alderman and city marshal.

The voters have four choices for both city-wide offices. Running for mayor are Mike Stone, Roger Gosney, Ron Kice and Samantha Goosey Brush.

Incumbent city marshal Steve Snodgrass is being opposed by Mark Drummond, John Myers and Michele D. Miller.

On the east side of town, voters will decide between William Reckenberg and Brian Brush for the east ward alderman job.

West side voters have four options to replace alderman Teresa Skinner, who did not seek re-election. Marsha Monroe, Chris Feeney, Tom Priebe and Robert Monroe are seeking the two-year term.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone