March 16, 2006

School Board Offers Teacher Contracts At March Meeting

On March 9th the Scotland County R-I Board of Education met for the regular monthly meeting at 6:30 p.m. with all seven members present. President Ellen Aylward called the meeting to order. There were two items under old business, and six items under new business.

In old business, Superintendent Dave Shalley and board member George Koontz presented an informational report from the M.A.R.E. conference at the Lake of the Ozarks on February 24th.

The board then turned its attention to solving roof problems at the elementary school. Shalley indicated that the roof at the district’s east building had been experiencing leaking problems during moderate rain showers. The Garland Company inspected the roof and offered a detailed report for the board regarding possible repair work.

The Board voted 7-0 to proceed with the process of bidding work to repair the roof.

In new business the board received the annual technology procedural evaluation from Jim Morgan. The board voted 7-0 to approve the Technology Procedural Evaluations and take Morgan’s recommen-dations under advisement.

Solicit Bus Bids

Shalley recommended to the board that the district consider soliciting bids for a new bus.

“We have been buying one bus per year to try to keep the fleet current and have budgeted for a new bus,” Shalley stated.

He indicated that transportation director Dennis Robertson will look into costs of a 53- and 65-passenger bus. He noted the district has made no commitment to buy a bus at this time.

The board voted 7-0 to give permission to solicit bids for a bus.

Bus Sale

Robertson was present to ask the board’s permission to advertise the sale of two buses. The buses are no longer on routes. The board voted 7-0 to grant permission to advertise the sale of the buses. Bids will be due April 10th and opened at the regular meeting of the Board of Education on April 13th, 2006.

Trip Requests

The board received two letters requesting approval for overnight trips for student groups. The first letter was from Mr. Cottrell requesting permission to stay overnight for the State FFA Convention to be held in Columbia, April 20-21. The board also received a letter from Ms. McCabe asking permission for the FBLA group to go to Chicago on April 19th. The board voted 7-0 to grant permission for both trip requests as presented.

Personal Days

The board received three letters from faculty members requesting the use of personal days to extend the school’s scheduled Spring Break. The first letter was from Bonnie and Ronnie Young, asking to use April 11 and 12 as personal days. Gary Hunziker and Randi York also asked to extend their Spring Break. Since the personal days in question extend a vacation, board approval was necessary. The board voted 7-0 to grant the requests pending the availability of substitutes.

Letter of Resignation

A letter of resignation was received from special education instructor Kathleen Bialota. The board voted 7-0 to accept Ms. Bialota’s resignation with regret and wished her the best of luck.

Executive Session

In executive session the board voted offers of continuing employment to tenured and non-tenured staff.

Tenured staff members are on a continuing contract.

“While it is not necessary to annually vote to offer employment to tenured personnel, the Board wished to express its support and appreciation to all tenured teachers with a 7-0 vote of confidence for the work they do on behalf of our students,” stated Shalley.

Tenured teachers at SCR-I are: Marie Alexander, Sue Payne, Denice Blaine, Susan Burns, Meera Shinn, Dave Boden, Debbie Caldwell, Sharon Triplett, Brent Bondurant, Jeannie Childress, Julie Wickert, Andrea Brassfield, Teresa Cotton, Randi York, Bob Brown, Terri Emel, Terri Bulen, Marc Colvin, Lori Fulk, William Cottrell, Jason Jones, Andrea Dabney, Sheri Kapfer, Jo Beth Harvey, Leslie Lough, Mike Hyde, Linda Marlowe, Gary Hunziker, Shari Moore, Rhonda McBee, Sarah Myers, Carol McCabe, Marla O’Donnell, Jim Morgan, Tom O’Donnell, and Nathan Pippert.

Five members of the certified staff were eligible for tenured status this year and all five were approved for tenure.

The board voted 7-0 to offer tenure contracts to Lisa Denney, Brooke Wineinger, Dawn Triplett, and Sam Berkowitz. The Board voted 6-0 to offer Melissa Miller a tenured contract with Gary Miller being absent for the vote.

The board, by a 7-0 vote offered employment to the following non-tenured staff: Angie Wentworth, Ryan Bergeson, Ched Hurley, Jennie Little, Kelli Swearingen, Doug Baker, Brad Cerbin, Jennifer Cerbin, Sandra Eccles, Darbee Wellman, Ivonne Wiegand, Ryan Anderson, Jamie Hicks, Katy Houston, Kathy Burchett and Jason Hannam.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone