March 9, 2006

Filing Opens With Flurry As Candidates Declare For Offices

Filing opened with a flurry as a number of candidates signed up to run for public office in Scotland County on February 28th.

Incumbents headlined the list of candidates that signed on the dotted line on the first day of filing.

Presiding commissioner Mike Stephenson, circuit clerk Anita Watkins, treasurer LaMayra Brown, collector Kathy Becraft, prosecuting attorney Kim Nicoli and associate circuit judge Karl DeMarce all will seek re-election on the Democratic ticket.

County Clerk Betty Lodewegen was the lone incumbent to file on the Republican ticket. She currently is the lone candidate with a challenger, as Christie Shelley has filed to run for the job on the Democrats side of the ballot.

But thats not the only race. Three candidates have filed for the recently created office of county recorder. Dana Glasscock and Kathy A. Campbell will vie for the Democratic nomination. Teresa Rockhold has filed for the office on the Republican side of the ballot.

Candidates have until March 28th to file for office.

On the state level, local voters will help decide the 1st District State Representative and the 18th District Missouri Senate positions.

Incumbent Brian Munzlinger (R-Williamstown) filed for re-election as state rep. He is being opposed by former WGEM news anchor Beau Hicks of Ewing. Hicks, a former Republican, filed on the Democratic ticket.

Due to term limits, Senator John Cauthorn will not be running for re-election. State Representative Wes Shoemeyer of Clarence has filed on the Democratic ticket. Representative Bob Behnen of Kirksville will run for the senate job on the Republican ballot.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone