January 26, 2006

Ballots Finalized For April 4th Municipal, School Board Elections

Filing officially closed on January 17th for the upcoming municipal and school board elections to be held in April. Voters will go to the polls in the City of Memphis and the Scotland County R-I district, but the Gorin R-III district will not be on the ballot.

Three candidates filed for the three vacancies on the Gorin R-III Board of Education. Because there are no races for any of the seats, the district is not required by law to place the election on the ballot.

Incumbents Eddie See and Christine Musgrove are unopposed for new three-year terms. Albert Peterson was the lone candidate to file for the one-year un-expired term vacated by former board member Leon Shaw.

The Scotland County R-I district will have a ballot issue in April as five candidates filed for two vacancies on the board of education.

Incumbents Gary Miller and Ellen Aylward will seek new three-year terms. They will be challenged by Stacy Alexander, James Kice and Stacy Westhoff.

Voters in the City of Memphis will also have options on their 2006 ballot.

Four candidates have filed for Mayor. Current Mayor Mike Stone will be opposed in April by Roger Gosney, Samantha Brush and Ron Kice.

The race for City Marshal has four candidates placing their name in the hat for the job. Incumbent Steve Snodgrass is being challenged by John Myers, Mark Drummond and Michele Miller.

Four candidates will be vying for the west ward alderman position being vacated by Teresa Skinner. Filing for the office were Marsha Monroe, Tom Priebe, Robert Monroe and Chris Feeney.

On the east side of town there are three candidates for the alderman position. Current Alderman William Reckenberg will face Brian Brush and Win Hill in the April election.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone