October 27, 2005

Mid-America Nationals Help Close Out 2005 Race Season at SCS

by Brian Neal

Memphis, MO (Oct. 22,2005) - The final night of the Pepsi / Mt. Dew Mid-America Nationals brought the season to a close for both the O’Reilly United States Modified Touring Series and the Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway (Memphis, MO). Taking home final feature wins of the season were Jason Hughes (Modifieds), Zack VanderBeek (Stock Cars), Bob Woodrow (B-Modifieds), Dustin Smith (Hobby Stocks), Jeremy Buss (Cruisers) and Dennis Schulte (Hornets).

The 12-lap Hornet feature was the first to take to the track, with Cody Phillips and John Brown on the front row. Brown would jump into the lead on the drop of the green, with Dennis Schulte close behind in second. Brown held off Schulte until lap 7, when Dennis slipped by for the lead. Schulte then held off Brown and Tyler Schulte over the final 5 laps to take home the win. Rob Chase was fourth, with Phillips holding on for fifth.

Jeremy Buss and Bill O’Haver led the field to the drop of the green flag in the 12-lap Cruiser feature, with Buss grabbing the lead on lap 1. Buss would lead all 12 laps and held off several challenges from Dave Hudson to claim his second win of the weekend. Jim Powell was third, Daniel Robbins came from 11th to finish in fourth, with Clayton Robbins coming from 10th to round out the top 5.

The 18-lap Hobby Stock feature was up next, with Trent Murphy and Chris Holt on the front row. But it was seventh place starter Bobby Greene making a charge to take the lead on lap 1. Greene looked to be heading for an easy win, as he had built a straight away lead over the field, when a late caution came out on lap 15. Greene would take the lead on the restart, with Dustin Smith now on his back bumper. Smith took the lead away from Greene on the bottom of turn two on lap 17 and then held him off on the final lap to take his first win of the season at Memphis. Donovan Smith came from 9th to finish in third, Jim Lynch was fourth, with Jimmy Hayes charging back up to fifth after a spin on lap 15.

Robbie Reed and Logan Trueblood led the field to the start of the 18-lap B-Modified feature, with Jim Gillenwater coming from third to grab the lead on lap 1. Gillenwater would hold the lead until lap 3, when Tommy Elston slipped under him for the top spot. Gillenwater would come back on the top of Elston on lap 4 to get the lead back. But Elston came back on the bottom to take back the top spot on lap 5. Elston and Gillenwater ran hard for the top spot until disaster struck on lap 8, when Gillenwater got into Elston, spinning him. Both drivers were sent to the back, giving the lead to Tony Dunker, who started seventh. Dunker then went on to hold the top spot until lap 12, when Bob Woodrow slipped by for the lead. Dunker would try Woodrow on the bottom of the speedway for the final 6 laps, but would try too hard on the final lap and spin. Woodrow then went on to pick up his first win in four years of trying at Memphis. Woodrow would also go home with a $800 check thanks to Toni Dunker Advance Trading Farm Marketing. Chris Leathers would finish in second, Gillenwater came back from the contact to finish in third, Reed held on for fourth, with Ron York coming home in fifth.

The 20-lap Stock Car feature saw Jason Rauen and Zack VanderBeek on the front row, with Rauen moving out into the lead on lap 1. Rauen and VanderBeek would battle for the top spot for the next 11 laps, when Rauen got sideways coming out of four on lap 12. VanderBeek took advantage of Rauen’s almost spin to grab the top spot. VanderBeek then held off Jason Cook over the final eight laps to take home the victory. Jeff Walker was third, Rod Staats charged from 20th to finish in fourth, with Shane Weller rounding out the top five.

Corey Dripps and Steve Arpin drew the front row for the 35-lap O’Reilly USMTS Modified Holley “A” main, with Jason Hughes coming from third to move out front on lap 1. Hughes set a torrid pace, as by lap 10 he had built a half a track lead and was entering lapped traffic. The battle for second was a good one, as Dripps, Arpin, Kelly Shryock and Tony Fraise were racing hard for second. The 35-lap feature had four caution events, but that didn’t slow down Hughes, as he would go on to lead all 35 laps to pick up the season finale feature for the O’Reilly USMTS. Shryock won the battle for second, Fraise was third, Mark Noble charged from his 20th place starting spot to finish in fourth, with Bruce Hanford coming from 14th to round out the top five.

After the feature event, Kelly Shryock was honored with his seventh consecutive O’Reilly United States Modified Touring Series national title. While Dean Mahlstedt came out on top of the AFCO Challenge by nine points over Shryock. With Brad McEwan being named the Rookies Rockin’ Sports Bar rookie of the year.

Todd and Janet Staley of RL Promotions also announced to the crowd that they had signed a three year deal with the Scotland County Fairboard to continue their promoting of the speedway. Plans are in the works for the 2006 season, which include the upgrading of the lights.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone