September 8, 2005

Scotland County Speedway Crowns 2005 Track Champions at Season Finale

by Brian Neal

Memphis, MO (Sept. 3,2005) - It was Cunningham Fertilizer Season Championship Night at the Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway, with the 2005 USRA Casey’s General Stores Championship Series points coming to an end. Tony Fraise (USRA Modifieds), Jason Cook (USRA Stock Cars), Jack Evans, Jr., (USRA B-Modifieds), Tony Becerra (USRA Hobby Stocks), Dave Hudson (Cruisers) and Dennis Schulte (Hornets) were crowned the 2005 Track Champions at the end of the evening. Fraise, Troy Alexander, Tony Dunker, Jeff Soper, Craig Spilker and Brandon Savage took home feature wins.

The evening started off with the 10-lap Cruiser feature. Craig Spilker came into the night with a shot at the title, and he would start off by grabbing the lead on lap 1 of the feature. Spilker would go on to lead all 10 laps to claim his third win in a row at Memphis. Michael St. Clair was second, Dave Hudson started tenth and worked his way up to third, which also helped him pick up the 2005 Track Title. Jeremy Buss was fourth, with Keith Reed coming home in fifth. Hudson and St. Clair picked up the heat race wins.

Up next was the 12-lap Hornet feature, with twenty-two cars taking to the track. Don DeMint and Rob Hammel led the field to the drop of the green flag, but it was fourth place starter Brandon Savage taking the lead on lap 1. Savage, Dennis Schulte, who had already clinched the 2005 Track Championship, and Tyler Schulte who started tenth battled for the top spot until lap 8. Savage would take the lead and then held off Tyler and Dennis through heavy lapped traffic to pick up his fifth win of the season at the speedway. John Oliver, III, came home fourth, with Don DeMint holding on for fifth. Heat race winners were Savage, T. Schulte and Travis DeMint.

The 12-lap USRA Hobby Stock feature turned out to be a battle down to the checkered flag. Mark Holt and Jeff Soper drew the front row for the event, with Soper moving out front on the drop of the green flag.

Brian Howerton would slip under Soper on lap 2 to take over the top spot, but Soper would come back the next lap to get the lead back. Howerton wouldn’t give up easy, as he took the lead back from Soper on lap 5 and looked to be heading for his first career feature win. But Soper had other ideas, as he slipped by Howerton on lap 9 to take back the top spot. Soper then held off Howerton over the final three laps to claim his first win of 2005 at Memphis after sitting out most of the summer with back problems.

Mike Shelton came home third, with Tony Becerra following in fourth, which helped him clinch the 2005 Track Title. Justin Hamelton came from 14th to round out the top 5. Howerton, Soper and Shelton took home the heat race wins.

Tyler Lewis and Tony Dunker led the field to the drop of the green flag in the 12-lap USRA B-Modified feature, with Dunker taking the lead on lap 1. Dunker would hold the top spot until lap 3, when Ron York slipped under him for the lead. York was able to hold off Dunker’s challenges until lap 11, when he slipped under him coming out of two to take the lead. Dunker then held off York on the final lap to pick up his third win of 2005 at the track. Jack Evans, Jr., who had already clinched the USRA B-Modified Title a week ago, would finish in third. Jerry Poor came from ninth to finish in fourth, with Logan Trueblood coming home in fifth. Heat race winners were Dunker and Poor.

The 15-lap USRA Stock Car feature was the next to take to the track, with Bert McDaniel and Chris Hawkins making up the front row. On the first lap, Michael Browning would get into the back of McDaniel and spin him coming off of four, sending both drivers to the back. On the restart Hawkins would grab the lead and then held it until lap 3, when Troy Alexander, who started eighth, slipped by for the top spot.

Alexander then held off Ryan Cook, who started 12th, and Jason Cook, who came into the evening as the 2005 Track Champion, to pick up his fifth win of 2005 at Memphis. Hawkins held on for fourth, with Browning coming back after the lap 1 accident to finish in fifth.

Browning, Shane Weller and J.Cook each picked up a heat race win.

The 20-lap USRA Modified feature was the final event of the night, with the Modifieds being the only track title riding on the result.

Mark Burgtorf, the 2004 Champion, came into the night only 16 points behind Tony Fraise. Burgtorf would get the advantage over Fraise in the feature, as he drew the pole. Burgtorf made the most of his starting spot, as he took the lead on the drop of the green flag. But Fraise would follow him in second and would then challenge him several times for the top spot. Fraise would wrestle the lead from Burgtorf on lap 17 and then held on for his second win in a row, which also gave him the 2005 Track Title. Lynn Monroe would come from seventh to third. Kevin Cale came from 8th to fourth, with Brandon Banks finishing a season-high fifth at the speedway. Heat race winners were Fraise, Burgtorf and Michael Long.

Coming up next at the Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway will be the Pepsi-Mt. Dew Mid-America Nationals on October 21-22. This event will be the season finale for the O’Reilly Auto Parts United States Modified Touring Series. More news will be released in the coming weeks, so log on to for the latest.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone