June 23, 2005

Purkey Pads Points Lead With Win in MLRA Late Model Special at SCS

Coffeyville, KS resident Al Purkey notched his second win of the year and extended his point lead as the OíReilly MLRA 2005 Thunder Tour made a stop at Scotland County Speedway on Saturday night, June 18th.

Purkey got by local racer Tommy Elston of Keokuk, IA, just after the halfway point of the 40-lap feature when the #45 car got backed up in lapped traffic. Elston built a big cushion early in the contest, but he had to settle for second place as he was unable to catch Purkey. Two other locals got into the top five as Mark Burgtorf of Quincy, IL finished third on the night just ahead of Lancasterís Chris Smyser.

Late Model Feature results

1) Al Purkey, 2) Tommy Elston, 3) Mark Burgtorf, 4) Chris Smyser, 5) Duke Whisenant, 6) Russell Portwood, 7) Alan Vaughn, 8) Scott Drake, 9) Jody Wood, 10) Jason Bodenhamer, 11) David Turner, 12) Jeff French, 13) Bryon Allison, 14) CJ Lyle, 15) Shane Essary, 16) Brett LaFollette, 17) David Barker, 18) Terry Melton, 19) Thad Trump, 20) Greg Larson, 21) Sonny Findling, 22) Gary Billings, Jr.

Five other classes took to the track on Pepsi-Cola Memphis Bottling Company Night at the Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway and the action produced three first time winners in 2005.

Abe Hulls took the checkered flag in an exciting hobby stock main event that saw four-wide action down the front stretch on more than one occasion.

Michael St. Clair took the early race lead courtesy of his poll position at the drop of the green flag. He held the post as half a dozen drivers jockeyed for position behind him over the next few laps.

Mark Holt was the first to make his move as he shot the #11 car around St. Clair on the outside to take the lead midway through the 12-lap feature race. But Holt was forced to the pits with car troubles allowing Huls to inherit the lead. The #30C didnít give up the top spot as he held off Mike Shelton and Tony Becerra to take the checkered flag.

The stock car class had a first-time winner in 2005 as Jason Cook made his inaugural stop in the winnerís circle after besting the field in the 15-lap race.

Troy Alexander got by Harley Hill on the opening circuit and looked poised to capture his third straight win. But it was not to be as Cook slipped under the #7A car on the bottom of the track on lap 10 to take the lead.

Cook then had to hold off a late charge from John Oliver, Jr. who was driving Jasonís brother, Ryan Cookís car. Alexander finished third followed by Matt Greiner and Mike Robinson.

The pony stock class gave the crowd its third first-time winner on the night. Brandon Savage benefited from an official ruling that penalized Tyler Schulte for jumping the flag on a restart late in the race. He passed Savage and took the checkered flag, but was penalized two spots for the rules infraction, giving Savage the win. Dennis Schulte was awarded second followed by Tyler Schulte.

The modified events saw familiar faces in the winnerís circle.

Jack Evans, Jr., waited until late to make his move but he led the final two laps to take the victory. Ron York topped the field early on before giving way to Jerry Reese, Jr. Shot-Rod came from his fifth-row starting spot to take over the race at the halfway point. But Evans, Jr., sent the #2R car to second place. York finished third.

The A-modified feature saw Ryan Meyer get a good start to take the lead on lap #1 despite starting in fourth. Tony Fraise piloted the #45 car over the top of Meyer on the fourth circuit to gain the advantage. Meanwhile Mark Burgtorf was moving up the field. The #69M took over the lead on the sixth lap and Burgtorf never looked back en route to his second straight victory. Michael Long got by Meyer late to take third.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone