January 6, 2005

Ballots Filling Out For Variety Of Local Governing Boards

Our community is built by boards. While lumber is a key component of Scotland County, it is the governing boards of such public organizations as the hospital, schools, and emergency aid providers that insure essential services are available for all citizens.

Boards such as the Gorin R-III Board of Education, Memphis City Council, and CPWSD#1 Board are in the news this month as filing is underway for prospective members to serve. January 18th is the deadline for individuals to officially proclaim their candidacy to serve on the community governing bodies. (See the public notices on Page 9 for official guidelines for registering or contact the governing body.)

The following is a list of local boards, meeting times, as well as a list of the individuals that have freely given of their time to serve the community:

Gorin R-III School Board

Meets monthly on the third Tuesday of the month at 7:00 p.m. at the school in Gorin.

President Bill Roach

VP Leon Shaw

Secretary Tammy Weidenbenner

Members Dave Alderton

Mike Parrish

Ed See

Larry Mohr

2005 Election - Members are elected for three-year terms. Up for election this year will be the seats held by Roach, Parrish and Mohr. As of January 3, only Mohr had filed for the vacancies.

Consolidated Public Water Supply District #1

Meets monthly on the fourth Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. at the CPWSD #1 Building in Memphis.

President Dorsey Swearingen

Vice President Kenny Eggleston

Secretary Bill McBee

Treasurer Jamie Triplett

Board member Randy Garnett

2005 Election voters will select a representative for a three-year term for the #1 Sub District. The position is currently held by Swearingen, who has filed for re-election.

Scotland County Fire Corporation

Hosts an annual meeting the second Saturday of each year at the Memphis Fire Station in addition to special meetings when needed.

President Freddie Henderson

VP Willis Martin

Sec./Treasurer - Stacie Dannenhauer

Members Mike Johnson

Bud Garrett

Jack Dannenhauer

Rudy Glass

Tom Fender

Chad Triplett

George Frederick

Wilbert Lohmann

Wayne Durham

Bob Hunolt

Members are elected for undefined terms in an effort to represent each part of the county. The board makes executive and financial decisions for the volunteer fire department, which protects more than 700 members that pay annual dues of $25.

Scotland County R-I

School Board

Meets monthly on the last Thursday of the month at 6:30 p.m. in the Art Room of the Elementary School.

President Ellen Aylward

VP George Koontz

Secretary Gary Miller

Treasurer David Kirkpatrick

Members Paul Campbell

Scott Brassfield

Doug Shalley

2005 Election Members are elected for three-year terms. The terms of Campbell, Koontz and Brassfield are set to expire. All three have filed for re-election.

Scotland County

Memorial Hospital

The board meets the fourth Wednesday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the SCMH conference room.

Chairman Judy Wilson

Vice chairman Dwight DeRosear

Secretary Joe McVeigh

Treasurer Bob Neese

Members Curtis Ebeling

Hollis Boyer

Election 2005 Members are elected for six-year terms. The term of long-time chairman Hollis Boyer will expire this year.

City of Memphis

The Board of Aldermen meets on the first Thursday of each month at the Memphis City Hall at 7:30 p.m. The City Council is one of the few paying boards with aldermen receiving $2,000 annual salaries and the mayor taking home $4,000 a year.

Mayor Ron Alexander

East Ward Aldermen Ronnie Gardner

Mike Stone

West Ward Aldermen Lucas Remley

Teresa Skinner

Tax Collector Michelle Drummond

Election 2005 The two-year terms of Gardner and Remley will expire this year. Both have officially filed for re-election. No one has filed for the tax collector position, which is an unpaid post.


Scotland County Ambulance Service Board

Arbela, Granger and Gorin municipal boards;

Scotland County Health Department

Scotland County Memorial Library

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone