December 23, 2004

Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway Hosts 1st Annual Awards Banquet

By Brian Neal

Memphis, MO- The 2004 Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway season came to an end with the awards banquet. Nearly 300 drivers, crews and fans turned out at the V.F.W. in Memphis, MO to honor the top 10 drivers in six classes.

Thad Trump was honored as the 2004 Late Model Track Champion. He edged out Jody Wood by 5 points to pick up his first Track Championship. Lynn Monroe was honored for his 3rd place finish, Jerry Asher finished 4th, Tommy Elston in 5th, Russell Jeffries in 6th. Justin Fuller was 7th, Denny Woodworth in 8th, Dick Weber was 9th, with Gordy Grubb rounding out the top 10 in Late Model points.

The USRA Modifieds Track Championship went to Mark Burgtorf. He battled Tony Fraise all season to come out on top of the Modified points. Third in points was Ryan Meyer. Phillip Cossel was 4th, Bob Dale in 5th, Jim Gillenwater was 6th, Zack VanDerbeek was 7th, Jardin Fuller in 8th, Mike DeLozier was 9th, with Kevin Tomlinson rounding out the top 10 in USRA Modified points.

Mike Robinson was honored for his Track Championship in the USRA Stock Car points. He and Ryan Cook put on some great racing battles for the track championship. Jason Cook came in 3rd, Jim Brown was 4th, Troy Alexander was 5th, Todd Phillips was 6th, Bob Lynch was 7th, Rodger Dresden was 8th, Kiel Morton was 9th, with Michael Browning rounding out the top 10 in USRA Stock Car points.

The USRA B-Modified Track Champion was Jerry Reese, Jr. He held off a late charge from Jack Evans, Jr. to pick up his first Track Championship. Danny Daggs came in 3rd, Logan Trueblood was 4th, John Shaffer was 5th, Ron York was 6th, Jerry Poor was 7th, Tony Morton in 8th, Todd Morton in 9th, with Larry Newman rounding out the top 10 in USRA B-Modified points.

Jeff Soper claimed the USRA Hobby Stock Track Championship. He and Tony Becerra put on some great battles to determine the champion. Third place went to Brandon Symmonds, Jim Lynch was 4th, Mark Holt was 5th, Jason Overhulser was 6th, Josh Soper in 7th, Jeremy Hamlin in 8th, Jim Walker was 9th, with Mike Shelton rounding out the top 10 in USRA Hobby Stock points.

The Cruiser Track Championship went to Michael St. Clair. He dominated the first half of the season and then held off Brian Overhulser at the end to claim the track title. David Hudson was 3rd, Bill O’Haver was 4th, Eric Bergheger was 5th, Jody Small was 6th, Shawn Crowell in 7th, Keith Reed in 8th, Jon Antal was 9th, with Craig Spilker rounding out the top 10 in Cruiser Points.

Other awards handed out on the evening included Most Improved driver. Phillip Cossel was honored as the USRA Modified driver, Ron York received the award for the USRA B-Modifieds. The USRA Stock Car went to Troy Alexander, with Josh Soper getting the award in the USRA Hobby Stocks.

Sportsmanship Awards went to Tony Fraise in the USRA Modifieds, Jerry Poor in the USRA B-Modifieds, the Stock Cars went to Jim Brown, with Tony Becerra being honored in the USRA Hobby Stocks.

Driver of the Year Awards were handed out to Tony Fraise in the USRA Modifieds, Jerry Reese, Jr. in the USRA B-Modifieds, Mike Robinson for the USRA Stock Cars and Jeff Soper in the USRA Hobby Stocks.

Overall Driver of the Year award went to Mark Burgtorf.

Todd and Janet Staley and their staff will return to the Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway in 2005. Plans are already in the works to make it a bigger and better year than 2004.

On March 19th, the downtown will host the second annual Car Show to kick off the 2005 season. The first race is scheduled to be April 22nd and 23rd, with J&J Ag and Travel Connections sponsoring the United States Modified Touring Series. So mark your calendars now for those two days.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone