September 16, 2004

Lantz gets biggest win of his career at the Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway

by Brian Neal

Memphis, MO (September 11) - Wyatt Lantz picked up the biggest win of his career on NEMO Beverage night at the Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway. Jeff Soper (Hobby Stocks), Michael St. Clair (Cruisers) and Gordon Blankenship (Hornets) also claimed victories on the night.

Ron York took advantage of his front row starting spot to grab the lead on lap 1 of the 20 lap B-Modified feature, with Kelly Smith following him in second. York continued to hold the top spot, with Smith, Jerry Reese, Jr. and Jack Evans, Jr. battling it out for second.

The man on the move was Wyatt Lantz, as he started 11th, and was slowly working his way to the front. Lantz would overtake York on lap 16 on the bottom of the speedway and then held on for the final four laps to pick up the win.

For Lantz it was the biggest win of his career, as he took home the top prize of $1,000. York finished in 2nd, Reese, Jr. was 3rd, Evans, Jr. came in 4th, with Smith rounding out the top 5. Chris Leathers, Lantz and Larry Winn picked up heat race wins.

The 15 lap Hobby Stock feature saw Tony Becerra jump out to the lead on lap 1, with Jeremy Hamlin close behind in second.

Becerra and Hamlin continued to battle for the lead, as Jeff Soper, who started 10th was working his way towards the front.

Soper would overtake Becerra on lap 13 on the top of the speedway and then held off Hamlin on the final two laps to pick up the win. Becerra slipped back to 3rd, Mark Holt came from 16th to finish 4th, with Dustin VerSteeg coming from 18th to round out the top 5.

Heat race winners were Soper, Mike Shelton, Jim Lynch and Jim Oliver, Jr., while Brandon Wear claimed the semi.

Craig Spilker took the lead on lap 1 of the 12 lap Cruiser feature, with Matt Bockenfeld following him in second. Spilker took a big lead, as Michael St.Clair, who started 6th, was slowly closing in on him. St. Clair would slip under Spilker on lap 11 and then held him off on the final corner to claim the win. David Hudson was 3rd, Bockenfeld was 4th, with Bill O’Haver coming home in 5th. St. Clair and Spilker won the heats.

The 12 lap Hornet feature saw Gordon Blankenship come from his 7th place starting spot to grab the lead on lap 1. Blankenship would lead all 12 laps to claim the win. Tyler Schulte was 2nd, Brandon Savage came from 8th to finish 3rd, Dennis Schulte was 4th, with Jim Oliver coming from 10th to round out the top 5. Heat race wins went to Blankenship and D. Schulte.

Coming up next at the Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway will be the Mountain Dew Mid-America Nationals on October 1-2. The USMTS Modifieds will be going for $2,000 to win on Friday and $3,000 to win on Saturday. Also racing both nights will be the Stock Cars, B-Modified, Hobby Stocks, Cruisers and Hornets.



Heat Race 1: 1.Chris Leathers, Macon 2.Jack Evans Jr, Keokuk, IA 3.Kelly Smith, Kirksville 4.Jerry Weisenberger, Quincy, IL 5.Tony Dunker, Quincy, IL 6.Kelly O’Haver, Kirksville 7.David Snyder, Greentop 8.Logan Trueblood, Memphis

Heat Race 2: 1.Wyatt Lantz, Bowen, IL 2.Teddy Collins, Clarence 3.Jerry Reese, Jr., Baring 4.Jerry Poor, Novelty 5.Bob Woodrow, Perry 6.Robbie Mauck, Knox City 7.Mark Antal, Lancaster 8.Amos Zimmerman, Memphis

Heat Race 3: 1.Larry Winn, Hallsville 2.Ron York, Edina 3.Mark Preston, Rock Island, IL 4.Jim Gillenwater, Keokuk, IA 5.Gary Dreyer, Quincy, IL 6.Larry Newman, Kirksville 7.Luke Holst, Augusta, IL 8.Chris Larson, Keokuk, IA

Feature: 1.Lantz, 2.York, 3.Reese, Jr., 4.Evans, Jr., 5.Smith, 6.Gillenwater, 7.Winn, 8.Preston, 9.Dreyer, 10.Weisenberger, 11.Newman, 12.Collins, 13.O’Haver, 14.Woodrow, 15.Dunker, 16.Snyder, 17.Trueblood, 18.Zimmerman, 19.Larson, 20.Poor, 21.Leathers, 22.Antal, 23.Holst, 24,Mauck

Hobby Stocks

Heat Race 1: 1.Jeff Soper, Kahoka 2.Tony Becerra, Carthage, IL 3.Brad Weber, Donnellson, IA 4.Doug Small, Memphis 5.Mark Holt, Memphis 6.Brandon Wear, Camp Point, IL 7.Adam Birck, Canton 8.Brandon Symmonds, Keokuk, IA

Heat Race 2: 1.Mike Shelton, Ottumwa, IA 2.Josh Soper, Kahoka 3.Earl Six, Keokuk, IA 4.Jimmy Hooper, Wyaconda 5.Kyle Foster, Quincy, IL 6.Robbie Dodge, Jacksonville 7.Nathan Wood, Sigourney, IA

Heat Race 3: 1.Jim Lynch, Farmington, IA 2.Jeremy Hamlin, Memphis 3.Tim Pettibone, Moravia, IA 4.JR Miller, Fairfield, IA 5.Dustin VerSteeg, Oskaloosa, IA 6.Kevin Londrie, Keokuk, IA 7.Travis Woody, Cairo

Heat Race 4: 1.Jim Oliver, Jr. Beardstown, IL 2.Jim Walker, Mystic, IA 3.Robert Kibbe, Salem, IA 4.Kevin Cheney, Quincy, IL 5.Jason Overhulser, Alexandria 6.Tim Kraber, Ottumwa, IA 7.Mark Moore, Ottumwa. IA

Semi: 1.Wear, 2.Birck, 3.Kraber, 4.Symmonds, 5.Dodge, 6.Londrie, 7.Moore, 8.Wood, 9.Woody

Feature: 1.Jeff Soper, 2.Hamlin, 3.Becerra, 4.Holt, 5.VerSteeg, 6.Pettibone, 7.Six, 8.Small, 9.Foster, 10.Kraber, 11.Josh Soper, 12.Shelton, 13.Kibbe, 14.Walker, 15.Birck, 16.Miller, 17.Weber, 18.Oliver, Jr., 19.Hooper, 20.Lynch, 21.Wear, 22.Symmonds, 23.Cheney, 24.Overhulser


Heat Race 1: 1.Michael St. Clair, Wayland, 2.Jon Antal, Lancaster, 3.Keith Reed, Quincy, IL 4.Derrick Decker, Quincy, IL 5.Brian Overhulser, Alexandria 6.Kevin Moore, Ottumwa, IA 7.Nathan Bensteine, Keosaqua, IA 8.Jason Billings, Keokuk, IA 9.Brian Bergheger, Keokuk, IA

Heat Race 2: 1.Craig Spilker, Quincy, IL 2.David Hudson, Memphis, 3.Bill O’Haver, Kirksville 4.Tanya Wietholder, Liberty, IL 5.Matt Bockenfeld, Quincy, IL 6.Daniel Robbins, Greentop 7.Jody Small, Rutledge 8.Amy Mason, Warsaw, IL

Feature: 1.St. Clair, 2.Spilker, 3.Hudson, 4.Bockenfeld, 5.O’Haver, 6.Wietholder, 7.Overhulser, 8.Small, 9.Reed, 10.Decker, 11.Antal, 12.Bensteine, 13.Moore, 14.Billings, 15.Mason, 16.Bergheger, 17.Robbins


Heat Race 1: 1.Gordon Blankenship, Keokuk, IA 2.Tyler Schulte, Montrose, IA 3.Brandon Savage, Keokuk, IA 4.Jim Oliver, Hamilton, IL 5.Brent Forest, Keokuk, IA 6.Nathan Collins, Centerville, IA 7.Andrew Hustead, Rutledge

Heat Race 2: 1.Dennis Schulte, Keokuk, IA 2.Donnie DeMint, Basco, IL 3.Danny Miller, Gorin 4.Rick Miller, Gorin 5.Travis DeMint, Basco, IL 6.Jim Hamilton, Keokuk, IA 7.Pat Mallonee, Ottumwa, IA

Feature: 1.Blankenship, 2,T.Schulte, 3.Savage, 4.D.Schulte, 5.Oliver, 6.Forest, 7.D.Miller, 8.D.DeMint, 9.Hamilton, 10.T.DeMint, 11.Hustead, 12.R.Miller, 13.Collins, 14.Mallonee

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone