August 19, 2004

Vanderbeek Wins First Night of Sunoco Stock Car Shootout

by Brian Neal

Memphis, MO (August 10)-The first annual Sunoco Stock Car Shootout at the Bentz GM Country Scotland County Speedway saw Zack Vanderbeek (USRA Stock Cars), Jeff Soper (USRA Hobby Stocks) and Brian Overhulser (Cruisers) claim wins on night one.

Jim Brown took advantage of his front row start to grab the lead on lap 1 of the 20 lap Stock Car feature. Brown would hold off Zack Vanderbeek’s challenges until lap 7, when Zack slipped under him to take over the top spot.

Vanderbeek then led the final 13 laps to pick up the win, in a non-stop feature. Brown held on for 2nd, Bert McDaniel was 3rd, Eric Flander was 4th, with TJ Criss rounding out the top 5.

Vanderbeek, Pete Agee, Troy Alexander and McDaniel picked up heat race wins, while Lorne Parks claimed the semi win.

The 15 lap Hobby Stock feature saw Tony Becerra jump out front on the drop of the green flag, with Jeff Soper challenging him in second. Soper tried to get by Becerra for the next 7 laps and final made the pass down low on lap 8. Soper then held off Becerra on the next 7 laps to claim the win. Doug Small came from 8th to finish in 3rd, Jeremy Hamlin was 4th, with Justin Maschke coming home in 5th.

Heat race winners were Kevin Cheney and Mike Shelton.

Brian Overhulser moved out front on lap 1 of the 10 lap Cruiser feature and never was challenged to claim the feature win. Craig Spilker was 2nd, Michael St.Clair was 3rd, David Hudson was 4th,with Keith Reed rounding out the top 5. Overhulser also picked up the heat race win.

USRA Stock Cars
Heat Race 1: 1.Zack Vanderbeek, New Sharon, IA 2.Eric Flander, What Cheer, IA 3.Jim Brown, Fremont, IA 4.Brian Mitrisin, Oskaloosa, IA 5.Rodger Dresden, Keokuk, IA 6.Rich Vogt, Fairfield, IA 7.Tony Messamaker, Aravia, IA 8.Mark Holt, Memphis
Heat Race 2: 1.Pete Agee, Huntsville 2.Ryan Cook, West Point, IA 3.Mike Spilman, Hedrick, IA 4.Jason Cook, Mt.Pleasant, IA 5.Brad Pinkerton, New Sharon, IA 6.Lorne Parks, Ottumwa, IA 7.Keith Haislip, Davenport, IA
Heat Race 3: 1.Troy Alexander, Memphis 2.TJ Criss, Oskaloosa, IA 3.David Boas, Bloomfield, IA 4.Damon Murty, Chelsea, IA 5.Phillip Beard, Crawfordsville, IA 6.David Wietholder, Libertry, IL 7.Michael Browning, Edina
Heat Race 4: 1.Bert McDaniel, Eldon, IA 2.Jim Lynch, Bloomfield, IA 3.Mike Robinson, Moravia, IA 4.Bob Lynch, Ottumwa, IA 5.Chris Larsen, Keokuk, IA 6.Todd Phillips, Ollie, IA 7.Jason Riegel, Hedrick, IA
Semi: 1.Parks, 2.Beard, 3.Vogt, 4.Haislip, 5.Dresden, 6.Phillips, 7.Riegel, 8.Messamaker, 9.Larsen, 10.Browning, 11.Wietholder, 12.Holt, 13.Pinkerton
Feature: 1.Vanderbeek, 2.Brown, 3.McDaniel, 4.Flander, 5.Criss, 6.Mitrisin, 7.Alexander, 8.J.Cook, 9.Beard, 10.J.Lynch, 11.Dresden, 12.Spilman, 13.Haislip, 14.B.Lynch, 15.Riegel, 16.R.Cook, 17.Robinson, 18.Agee, 19.Vogt, 20.Parks, 21.Phillips, 22.Messamaker, 23.Murty, 24.Boas
Hobby Stocks
Heat Race 1: 1.Kevin Cheney, Quincy, IL 2.Mark Holt, Memphis 3.Justin Maschke, Knoxville, IA 4.Tony Becerra, Carthage, IL 5.Jeremy Hamlin, Memphis 6.Jim Walker, Mystic, IA 7.Bobby Greene, Eddyville, IA 8.Patrick Profeta, Keokuk, IA 9.Matt Messamaker, Moravia, IA
Heat Race 2: 1.Mike Shelton, Ottumwa, IA 2.Doug Small, Memphis 3.Jeff Soper, Kahoka 4.Jim Lynch, Farmington, IA 5.Brandon Symmonds, Keokuk, IA 6.Josh Soper, Kahoka 7.Bill Bonnett, Knoxville, IA 8.Robert Kibbe, Salem, IA 9.Kevin Londrie, Keokuk, IA
Feature: 1.Jeff Soper, 2.Becerra, 3.Small, 4.Hamlin, 5.Maschke, 6.Josh Soper, 7.Holt, 8.Walker, 9.Kibbe, 10.Symmonds, 11.Greene, 12.Londrie, 13.Profeta, 14.Lynch, 15.Shelton, 16.Bonnett, 17.Cheney, 18.Messamaker
Heat Race: 1.Brian Overhulser, Alexandria 2.Jody Small, Rutledge 3.Michael St.Clair, Wayland 4.David Hudson, Memphis 5.Craig Spilker, Quincy, IL 6.Jon Antal, Lancaster 7.Keith Reed, Quincy, IL 8.Daniel Robbins, Greentop 9.Bill O’Haver, Kirksville
Feature: 1.Overhulser, 2.Spilker, 3.St.Clair, 4.Hudson, 5.Reed, 6.Robbins, 7.Antal, 8.O’Haver, 9.Small

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone