March 18, 2004

Lady Tigers Earn Three Spots On All-Conference Teams

While the Tri-Rivers Conference will say goodbye to its two best girls basketball players following the 2003-04 season, there is plenty of talent coming back next year.

The league released its All-Conference list this week and three Scotland County Lady Tigers were honored.

Seniors Katie Fowler of Putnam County and Julie Gares of Clark County, were named Co-MVPís for the conference.

They were joined on the First Team All-Conference List by SCR-Iís Ali Fromm. The sophomore guard was the third highest vote-getter after leading the lady Tigers scoring 15.6 points per contest.

Rounding up the top squad were Haley Caldwell, a sophomore from North Shelby and Brook Schultz, a junior from Putnam County.

The second team was headed by sophomore Ashley Wallingford of Clark County. Other second team honorees were Charity Parker, a senior from Milan, Courtnee Ream, a senior from Putnam County, and Tania March a senior from Schuyler County.

Jessie Cotton, a senior from Scotland County, earned second team honors. She was the teamís second leading scorer, at 10.0 points per game. Cotton led the squad in steals, with 50, and also was the top three point threat, shooting 34.3 percent from behind the arc where she knocked down 36 triples this year.

Rounding out the second team were Sheníea Gardner, junior, Brookfield; Nicole Edwards, senior, Knox County; Courtney Shuman, freshman, Clark County; Jessica Taylor, junior, Milan; and Erika Drummond, senior, Schuyler County.

The honorable mention squad featured all underclassmen, including Scotland Countyís Brittney Courtright. The sophomore averaged 6.6 points per night. Her season high was a 17-point output in the district semi-finals. Courtright led the squad with 5.2 rebounds a game and was tops on the team with a 46.0 field goal percentage.

Joining Courtright on the team were Kate Moon, sophomore, Clark County; Haley Montgomery, junior, Putnam County; Brady Logsdon, sophomore, Clark County; and Trisha Bohle, sophomore, Milan.

Jason Harper of Clark County was named coach of the year.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone