July 8, 2004

Scotland County Rotary Club Celebrates 25th Anniversary

The Scotland County Rotary Club celebrated 25 years of service at its annual banquet June 29 at Lake Show Me.

Betty Lodewegen, 2003-04 S.C. Rotary President, presided over ceremonies that featured District Governor Jerry Wilford from Chillicothe and Ray Klinginsmith from the Kirksville Rotary Club, a past Rotary District Governor and a member of Rotary Internationalís Board of Trustees. Klinginsmith helped to start the Scotland County Club in 1979.

Also in attendance was Liz Reel, 2003-04 President of the Schuyler County Rotary Club that, along with the Kirksville club, sponsored the new Scotland County club.

ďI remember coming to Memphis every week for 16 months (in 1979-80) when we got started. We used to have our board of directors meetings in the Community Bank building,Ē Klinginsmith remembered. ďThe Jaycees had just given up their charter and the Lionís Club was still hanging on, but we thought this would be a good Rotary community.Ē

Next year marks the 100th Anniversary of Rotary International. The service club was founded in Chicago as an organization of business and professional leaders who provide humanitarian service, promote high ethical standards in all vocations, and help to build good will and peace in the world.

In its 25 years, the local Rotary club has assisted in almost every community project Ė from lights for the Little League to Share the Harvest to equipment for the Youth Soccer league to the many high school scholarships it has provided. It has sent shoes to orphans in China, Russia, and South America, as well as gave relief to the victims of 9/11. The club is known for its Chicken-Ques and bingo tent at the Antique Fair.

Klinginsmith was introduced by past S.C. Rotary President Brent Walker. Walker joined past presidents John Cook, Gary Young, Greg Cowell, George Koontz, Phil Payne, Tom DeBerry, Ellen Aylward and Lodewegen in attendance. Cook was the Rotary Clubís first president. He and Dr. Harlo Donelson, who was unable to attend, were also honored as the two remaining charter members still in the club. It was also noted that Cook has had perfect attendance for 25 years.

ďI have made up meetings all over the country,Ē Cook, famous for his motorcycle travels, said.

Rotary also honored five graduating SCR-1 students. Jessie Cotton, Emily Kiddoo, Nick Oldham, Chase Hines, and Brandi Mallet each received $500 scholarships.

Terry Fincher, long time volunteer with Little League, received Rotaryís Civic Award.

Becky Bragg, from the Kirksville club and a Rotary Assistant District Governor then swore in the clubís new officers and board of directors for 2004-05. Jeff Behrens, Jim Kigar, Scott Westhoff, and Ellen Aylward will serve as president, vice president, secretary and treasurer respectively.

ďThis is one of my favorite clubs,Ē Bragg said. ďBecause you are an active club. Some clubs just write checks, but you get out there and do the work. And that is why this is a strong club.Ē

There are currently 26 members of the Rotary Club. Anyone interested in joining can contact a Rotarian for information.



Please call or email { 660.465.7016 or chris@memphisdemocrat.com } with questions about advertising or to start advertising with Memphis Democrat today!

$4.50 per column inch
$4.50 per column inch (Classified)
$0.08 each for pre-printed mailer inserts
$0.12 per word for text only Classifieds

$20 for One Spot Color
$50 for Full-Color Process


per month for text only business directory ad.

$25 per month small ad
$35 per month medium ad
$50 per month large ad
$75 per month skyscraper ad
$125 per month top banner ad
$135 per month top banner ad

LARGE (300X250)
TOP BANNER AD¬†(728×60)
BANNER AD¬†(728×90)

small-ad-160x160md-ad-160x250lg-ad-300x250sky-ad-160x500top-ad-728x60 banner-ad-728x90

Your Name (required):

Your Email (required):

Ad Size:

Ad Content

If you have an image to include in your ad, browse to find the file.

Please enter the text you see in the field below, then click send.


Bb Server