April 8, 2004

City Council Retains Incumbents, County Road and Bridge Tax Passed At April 6 Election

A limited ballot drew less than one of every five Scotland County registered voters out to the polls April 6th. County Clerk Betty Lodewegen reported voter turnout on Election Tuesday was just 19-percent, with just over 600 votes cast.

The Scotland County Road and Bridge Special Tax Levy passed easily, by a nearly five-to-one margin. The 31-cent levy, which has been in place since 1947, was reaffirmed by the popular vote, a task it must face every four years.

In the City of Memphis a pair of incumbents were re-elected without opposition. Mayor Ron Alexander received 235 votes while West Ward Alderman Teresa Skinner was re-elected with 115 votes.

In the citys lone race, incumbent East Ward Alderman Mike Stone defeated challenger Ed Hogarth by a final margin of 104 to 33.

The biggest race occurred in the Village of Rutledge where six candidates were vying for three spots on the Board of Trustees. Gary See (14 votes), David Herr (11 votes) and Steve Montgomery (nine votes) were the winners finishing ahead of Mark Weiler (7 votes), Charlie Montgomery (3 votes) and Kennen Gordy (1 vote).

In the City of Gorin eight different candidates received write-in votes for the Citys Mayor. Former mayor Robert Bass earned the position with 11 votes with the next closest candidate being Jerry Jones with five votes. Also receiving write in tallies were Clint Bass, Mark Humes, Ron Ross, Margaret Davis, Richard Crawford and Candy Humes.

Mary Helen Jacobs received six votes to earn the East Ward Alderman job in Gorin. The one-year un-expired term will go to write-in candidate Mike Tague who received four votes to just one for Shannon Givens.

In Gorins West Ward it was Richard Crawford earning 15 votes to gain the two-year term on the city council. The West Ward also had a write-in race for a one-year un-expired term, which went to Margaret Davis with 12 votes. Bob Sears earned one write-in vote.

In the Village of Arbela three board members were elected. Twila Stevenson was the top vote-getter with 15 followed by Carol Wiley with 14 and Gordon Wiley with 13. All three earned two-year terms on the board.

Granger voters elected two city council representatives. Richard Byrn and Thomas Shannan both received 12 votes.

Voters chose to return Jamie Triplett to serve as Sub-District #5 board member for the Scotland County Public Water District #1. Triplett received 25 write-in votes. Bill Camp and Aaron Dannenhauer also received votes for the job.

Two local school districts had races for jobs on the Board of Education.

Gorin voters chose Larry Mohr over Donald Miller by a 51 to 10 margin.

While official results were not available for the entire Wyaconda School District, Scotland County Voters backed Tina Bertram Townsend (8 votes) and Angela McCutheon (5 votes) over Marsha Boatman (4 votes) and Bill Golbricht (one vote) for the two seats on the board.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone