April 1, 2004

Election Officials Expecting Low Voter Turnout On Tuesday

With a very limited number of races on the April 6 municipal election ballots in Scotland County, electoral officials are anticipating a light voter turnout locally.

There are just two contested races for city offices in the county.

The biggest race is for the three openings on the Village of Rutledge Board of Trustees. The candidates are Steve Montgomery, Gary See, Charlene Montgomery, Kenen Gordy, David Herr and Mark Weiler.

The only other contested race on the ballot is in the east ward in the city of Memphis. Incumbent Alderman Mike Stone is being opposed by Ed Hogarth.

East Ward Alderman Teresa Skinner and Memphis Mayor Ron Alexander are both running unopposed for re-election.

The City of Granger has just two candidates for the City Council. Richard Byrn and Thomas Shannan are unopposed on the ballot.

The same situation exists in Arbela where there are just three candidates, Gordon Wiley, Carol L. Wiley and Twila Stevenson, for the three openings on the board.

There is no opposition for two of the three offices for the City of Gorin Ė there are no candidates for the positions at all.

The cityís mayor and the one-year un-expired terms for alderman in both the east and west wards will be blank on the ballot. Richard Crawford is seeking the two-year term as alderman in the west ward while Mary Helen Jacobs is seeking the similar vacancy in the east ward. Both will run without opposition.

The Scotland County Public Water District #1 also has a blank spot on its ballot as no candidate filed for the director position from sub-district #5.

Countywide, voters will determine the future of the 31-cent special road and bridge tax levy. The levy has been in place since 1947 and requires voter reaffirmation every four years.

Three area schools have ballot issues that could effect Scotland County voters.

The Gorin R-III District has two candidates running for a one-year un-expired term on the schoolís board of education. Larry Mohr and Donald Miller are competing for the seat.

The Wyaconda C-I School District also has a race for the districtís school board. Tina Bertram Townsend, Angela McCutcheon, Bill Golbricht and Marsha Boatman are vying for two open seats on the board.

Voters that reside in the Knox County School District will decide on Proposition 2, a request to increase the districtís operating levy by 30-cents, raising the levy to $4.00 per $100 of assessed valuation.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone