March 25, 2004

NEMO AAA Board, Silver Haired Legislature Are Seeking Nominations

Nominations are currently being accepted for the Northeast Missouri Area Agency on Aging (NEMO AAA) Board of Directors and delegates to the Silver Haired Legislature. Nominations will be accepted at the NEMO AAA office or at the Senior Centers throughout the 16 county service area until April 16.

NEMO AAA serves the counties of Adair, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Ralls, Randolph, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby and Warren. Elections will take place May 3-7, at local Senior Centers.

NEMO AAA Board elections will take place in five of the 16 counties served: Adair, Lincoln, Marion, Monroe, and Scotland. Board members must be a resident of the county for which they are elected and have an interest in aging issues, needs and programs. Elected board members serve a three-year term and need not be 60 years of age.

The Silver Haired Legislature is a model legislature composed of elected representatives from throughout Missouri. Silver Haired Legislature elections will take place in three regions: Northeast; two representatives, Mark Twain; one senator and three representatives, Boonslick; two representatives. Alternate positions are open in all regions.

Silver Haired Legislature holds a two three day session each October at the Capitol in Jefferson City to consider legislation of interest to older Missourians. Silver Haired Legislature delegates must be 60 years of age or over and reside in the area they represent.

Individuals who are interested in NEMO AAA Board of Directors and/or the Silver Haired Legislature may contact the Northeast Missouri Area Agency on Aging for appropriate form(s). The form(s) must be returned to the NEMO AAA office by April 16. For more information call NEMO AAA at 660-665-4682 or 1-800-664-6338.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone