March 11, 2004

Large Crowd Attends 59th Annual Soil and Water Conservation District Meeting

The Scotland County Soil and Water Conservation District held its 59th annual meeting at the V.F.W. Hall in Memphis on March 4th.

Stanley Hatfield, chairman of the board, called the meeting to order and Darla Campbell, secretary of the board, read the minutes of the 2003 meeting and Bruce Childress, treasurer gave the financial report.

Paul Campbell, AgNPS SALT Project Manager, gave the Little Fox SALT Report and Donald Norton talked about the SALT application submitted for the North Fork/Middle North Fabius for a new SALT Project. Darla Campbell talked about the SALT project application submitted for Schuyler County that will include part of Scotland County and the Information Education Grant that the Scotland and Knox Soil Districts received, which made it possible to hire Cassandra Hauk as the Information/Education Specialist for both counties. Ken Berry, District Conservationist at the NRCS office discussed the federal programs available to landowners.

Laura Aylward recited the FFA creed and the FFA Parliamentary procedure team entertained the crowd with a debate on deer in Scotland County.

The winners of the eighth annual conservation essay contest were given their cash awards by Robert Hunolt, vice chairman of the board. $100.00 winners were Shana Reese, daughter of Joey and Ki Reese and Danielle Shelley, daughter of Tony and Theresa Shelley. The $500.00 winners were Clint Cottrell, son of William and Cynthia Cottrell and Nicholas Oldham, son of Carol McCabe. The top two essays were read at the meeting.

Phil Duley, Executive Vice President and cashier of the Community Bank of Memphis, presented the annual poster awards to the winners in the second, third and fourth grade.

Ken Berry gave the invocation and over 170 people enjoyed the noon lunch provided by the soil district.

Entertainment after the meal was provided by Jessie Cotton and Danielle Shelley from the Scotland County R-I School music department.

Stanley Hatfield, chairman of the Scotland County Soil District was honored for his long time service to the district. Jeff Otto, chairman of the Knox County board and Charles Alexander, former board member, talked about things that they remembered about Stanley’s service to the board here in Scotland County and at the state level. Paul Campbell presented Stanley with a certificate of appreciation and a gift certificate from the board and employees of the district and NRCS.

Bill Chitwood of Sulphur, OK, gave the afternoon address. Bill kept the crowd laughing with his many jokes and stories.

Jim Long of Memphis, won the 13th annual Clark B. Ewing Conservation Memorial Award.

Bruce Childress and Duane Ebeling were elected to the board of supervisors for four-year terms.

The meeting adjourned with the drawing for door prizes. Those winning prizes this year were Sterling Forrester, Wayne Bulen, Don Pence, Lucas Brass, Jamie Triplett, Kenny Hauk, Scott Aylward, Dwight Snead, Lucas Mauck, Jim Long, Chris VanHoozen, Duane Ebeling, Jerry Johnston, Fred Bertram, Carroll Kittle, David Wiggins, Hollis Boyer, Sandra Ebeling, Twila Stevenson, Ruth Alexander, Madeline Ewing, Georgia Erickson, Rita Kittle, Nelda Kirkpatrick, Dana Hauk, Barbara Smith, Jerri Baker, Karen Goodwin, Virginia Bertram, Mildred Pence and Ruth Cantril.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone