November 13, 2003

Show-Me Speedway Concludes Successful 2003 Racing Season At Awards Banquet

More than 100 racers and fans gathered at the fire station in Memphis November 8 for the annual Show-Me Speedway awards banquet. Drivers from the Downing go-kart track were honored for their performances in 2003.

The large crowd enjoyed a meal provided by the track’s governing board as well as a social hour prior to the trophy presentations.

Trophies as well as Show-Me speedway jackets were presented to the top finishers in each division.

In the stock heavy division Brandon Darr was the points champion. Andrew Hays finished runner up with David VanLandingham in third.

The Over 40 champion was David Kirkpatrick. He edged out Rhea Golden for the top spot. Mike Thelen finished third followed by George Owings and Curtis Cavender.

The points title in the stock lite division went to Ryan Jacobs. Jamie Stevens finished second with the mother-daughter duo of Ashley Hutchinson and Jennie Hutchinson in third and fourth followed by Adam Baker.

Andrew Hays took top honors in the medium stock class. Adam Baker earned second place in the standings. Third place was taken by Jennie Hutchinson. Randy Eiler was fourth and Ashley Hutchinson was fifth.

The biggest class on the year was yard karts and top points went to Mitch Kriegshauser. Elliot O’Neal was the runner up. Rounding out the top five were Clay Darr, Greg Tuggle and Terry Delauder, Jr. All other drivers in the division were given trophies for participating.

Wesley Golden was the winner of the junior one class. Tyler Greisbaum was second with John Fox in third. Andy Garrett was fourth in points and Jared Fox finished fifth.

The junior two division crown was won by Jessie Simmons. Tyler Hagar took second place in the standings ahead of Seth Shahan, Kirk Hopkins and Cody Simmons.

During the final race of the season drivers voted on a number of post season awards. Jerad Fox was voted the most improved driver. The hard luck award went to Teresa Hagar while Brittany Thelen took the sportsmanship trophy.

During the event board member association vice-president David Kirkpatrick discussed track updates planned for 2004.

The board of directors includes president Mickey Hays, Kirkpatrick, treasurer Kathy Gardner, secretary Ron Gardner and members Win Hill and George Ownings.

The track crew feature flagmen Kevin Koontz and Mark Drummond, flag stand workers, Sheila Owings, Kathy Gardner and Mel Hagar as well as scale operator Dan Bishop. Track workers were Ron Gardner, Hill, Kirkpatrick, Mike Thelen, Jim Hagar, Hays, Ronnie Tinkle, Allen Garett and David Potterfield.

Banquet guests also recognized the concession stand volunteers, Mary Ann Kirkpatrick, Helen Hill, Lynette Dyer, Judi Bishop, Lisa Thelen, Anna Lynn Kirkpatrick and 50/50 ticket sales person Ann Potterfield.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone