April 24, 2003

Thursday Night Bowling League Hosts Awards Banquet

The Thursday Night Mixed League met for their annual bowling banquet at the Catfish Place April 17. Twenty-five bowlers attended. The 2002-2003 season was bowled as a split season. League Standing prizes were awarded for each half as follows: first half, first place, Catfish Place; second place, Parker Print and Pray; third place, LanDow; fourth place, Golden Girls; fifth place, Pepsi; and sixth place, Gas and More. Second half, first place, Parker Print and Pray; second place, Golden Girls; third place, Pepsi; fourth place, The Catfish Place; fifth place, Gas and More; and sixth place, LanDow.

Some awards were based on the full 28 weeks of bowling. The ABC (men's) high individual season average pin and certificate was awarded to Jeff Cline. The WIBC (women's) high individual season average pin and certificate was awarded to Terry Byers. American Bowling Congress (men's) most improved bowler certificate and pin award went to Matt Small. Matt improved his average from 132 to 145.17.

WIBC (women's) most improved bowler certificate and pin went to Dora Monroe. Dora improved her average score from 104 to 123.81. High individual scratch game was awarded to Vicki Mauck with a score of 256 bowled on March 6, 2003.High individual scratch series was awarded to Terry Byers. Terry bowled a 667 series on October 31, 2002. High team scratch game was awarded to The Catfish Place Bowlers for a game on December 19, 2002 by Terry Byers, Millie Elliott, Sandy Arnold and Donna Cook.

High team scratch series went to Pepsi bowlers, Travis and Amy Stott, Alta Buford, and Matt Small for bowling on April 10, 2003.

For special awards, bowler points are awarded, which can be exchanged for prizes. Awards are only given for the first accomplishment. Matt Small received bowler points for bowling four 200 games. Matt Small also received an award for bowling 150 pins over his series average. Lucas Mauck received bowler points for bowling a 200 game.

Women who received special awards were Perlanna Robinson for a 400 series. Kate Cline Bowled a 400 series and one game 75 pins over her game average. Pins and points were awarded to Sandy Arnold, Lezah Buford and Mary Young for bowling 200 games. Sandy Arnold bowled one game 75 pins over her game average. Terry Byers bowled two 600 series. Terry was the only Thursday night bowler to bowl three games in a row with the same score. She bowled 173 three games straight. Jodie Dunnett bowled two 400 series. Vicki Mauck bowled 75 pins over her average game on November 21, 2002, and then bowled 100 pins over her average on March 6, 2003. Vicki received a certificate for a WIBC Watch. Doris Orton waited until the last night of the season and bowled her first 400 Series. Several Bowlers received special recognition for perfect attendance; Jeff Cline, Vera Monroe, Travis Stott, Marcine Evans and Teresa Shaw.

Rita Brunk missed the banquet, as she was visiting out west and was going to be participating in the National Bowling Tournament in Reno, NV. Several bowlers from the Gas and More team have already gone to the State Bowling Tournament in Columbia, a few weeks ago. LanDow bowlers, Debbie Kelso, Teresa Shaw, Bette Beeler, Rita Brunk and Karmen Buckallew, and The Catfish Place bowlers, Terry Byers, Millie Elliott, Donna Cook, Sandy Arnold and Doris Orton, along with Wednesday night bowler, Jamie Carter will attend State Bowling Tournament the first weekend in May. It is hoped all can compete with Millie's last year's accom-plishments.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone