October 2, 2003
State Sheriff’s Association Announces Permit Procedure
Recently the Missouri Sheriff’s Association announced the procedure for obtaining a permit to carry a concealed firearm. During the 2003 Veto Session, the General Assembly voted to override Governor Holden’s veto on House Bill 349, which paved the way for law-abiding citizens to carry a concealed firearm.
“There has been a tremendous amount of effort put in by the Missouri Sheriffs’ Association to ensure that permits are issued in a lawful manner,” James Vermeersch, Executive Director of the Missouri Sheriffs’ Association, said. “It is important that all Missourians wishing to obtain a permit follow the procedure set forth by the Association so that permits can be issued in an organized and uniform way.
Before a citizen can apply for a concealed gun permit he/she must have the following information:
* Proof of training from a qualified firearms safety instructor;
* Valid Missouri Driver’s License, Non-Driver’s License or Military I.D.;
* Check, cash or money order made out in the amount of $100 payable to the County Sheriff’s Revolving Fund.
Any individual wishing to obtain a permit will be charged a maximum of $100 by their local sheriff’s office. This fee does include fingerprints and background checks, but does not include the proper firearms training. Citizens can obtain a list of qualified trainers, licensed by the State to teach the Academy’s Basic Firearms Training, from their local sheriff’s offices.
“It is vital to the success of this endeavor that all requirements are met before an individual applies for a permit,” Vermeersch said. “The Missouri Sheriffs’ Association had only 30 days to put forth a procedure to obtain a concealed firearm, therefore patience will be appreciated by all Missourians as this new law goes into effect.”
The new law goes into effect October 11, 2003.
- CHURCH NEWS
- CLASSIFIED ADS
- LETTERS TO THE EDITOR
- SOCIAL NEWS