March 21, 2002

Fromm Named To Class 2A NEMO All-District First Team

The district champions were well represented on the 2002 Northeast All-District Basketball teams that were announced March 19 by the regional sports reporters association.

Scotland County's Meagan Fromm was named to the all-district first team. The junior forward averaged more than 19 points per game and 10 rebounds a contest to earn the recognition.

Two state ranked teams along with a third district championship squad earned six of the 10 first-team slots.

Elsberry's Kari Koch and Shanna Lonsberry earned top honors as they were on their way to leading their team to a second place finish in the Missouri Class 2A championship. The team knocked off fellow state-ranked opponent Clark County in the district sectional playoffs before knocking off South Shelby in the quarter-finals. Both of the later squads also placed two players on the all-district first team.

The selection committee placed Megan Martin and Emily Huckey on the first team to represent Clark County. South Shelby senior players Wendy Shoemyer and Katie Eagen also earned first team honors.

The remainder of the first team consisted of Michelle Williams of Palmyra, Richele Dorsey of Clopton and Jennifer Collier of Knox County.

Fromm, Martin and Dorsey were the lone underclassmen on the list. All will be returning next year to lead their teams in their senior seasons.

Clark County placed two more starters on the all-district list when Julie Gares (sophomore) and Jackie Burkhart (senior) were named to the second team. South Shelby and Elsberry placed their third player each on the all star list when freshman Jackie Pratt of Elsberry and senior Brady McEwen of South Shelby were named to the second team.

Rounding out the all-district second team were: Teresa Bringer, Sr. Highland; Mallory Spratt, Jr., Palmyra; Kristi Schmitt, Sr., Marceline; Lesley Paalhar, Jr., Brookfield; Stacey Henderson, Fr., Louisiana; and Donetta Wilkerson, So., Paris.

Elsberry and Highland dominated the boys Class 2A teams as the two squads took home district championships this year. Elsberry marched on to a second place finish in the Missouri 2A playoffs.

Each team had two players named to the all-district first team. Elsberry added two more players on the second team while Highland placed a third player on the squad.

Class 2A Boys 1st Team

Dustin Robinson, Jr., Elsberry; Joe Ogdan, Sr., Elsberry; Greg Dilligard, Jr. Highland; Jerrill Humphrey, So., Highland; Joe Chapin, Jr., South Shelby; Travis Gibson, Sr., Van-Far; Ryan Wright, Sr. Milan; Damon Collins, Jr. Brookfield; Aaron Hill, So. Canton; Lance Boatman, Jr., Clark County.

Class 2A Boys 2nd Team

Jake Byrne, So., Elsberry; Patrick Youmans, Sr., Elsberry; Brad Ayers, Sr., Canton; Jared Smith, Sr., South Shelby; Kellen Cockrell, Sr., Van-Far; Joe Skinner, Sr., Marceline; Nick Garkie, Sr., Highland; Kyle Watson, Sr., Monroe City; Ian Gilworth, So., Putnam County; James Simpson, Jr. Wright City.

Fromm was not the only local player to earn all-district honors. Josh Yocum of Wyaconda was named to the Class 1A Boys 2nd Team.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone