March 14, 2002

Tigers Take Second In 30th Annual SCR-I Campus Bowl Tourney

It was smooth sailing for the host team in the 30th annual Scotland County Varsity Campus Bowl Tournament. That was until the championship game when Clark County derailed the Tigers title run.

SCR-I dominated Milan in the opening round of the event March 7. The Tigers took charge early with a 60-0 run in the first period en route to a 200-25 halftime lead.

It was more of the same in the third period as SCR-I rolled to the easy victory. Ryan Hinds nearly outscored the entire Milan team notching 120 points to the Wildcats 125. Michael Lodewegen finished with 70 points and John Grogan added 30.

Game two was a better match up but it still went the way of the Tigers in a 285-175 win over Putnam County.

The Midgets led 10-0 after the first question but that proved to be the only time SCR-I trailed after rebounding to build a 60-20 lead to end the first quarter. The margin grew to 135-75 at the intermission.

The two teams traded scores back and forth in the third period before Scotland County put the game away down the stretch.

Grogan had his best game of the year topping out with 60 points. Hinds added 60 points to help the Tigers to the win while Lodewegen pitched in with 50 points.

The Title match started well for the Tigers as the lead traded back and forth in the first period before the Indians answered the final question to pull ahead 60-50.

That was as close as SCR-I would get as the Indians opened the floodgates in the second period, expanding the lead to 195-95 at halftime.

Scotland County held the line in the third period before Clark County blew the game open with a near perfect fourth quarter that saw the Indians score 185 points on the 10 bonus questions.

The Tigers were held to just 155 points. Hinds and Grogan each had 40 points while Lodewegen ended up with 20 points.

Following the event an All-Tournament team was named from the eight players with the highest scoring averages.

Hinds finished the event with the fourth highest scoring average at 76 points per game. Clark County's Patrick Clifford led the all-star team with a 150 point average.

The final six spots on the team were filled by James Pflum, Putnam County - 96; Jordan Yoder, North Shelby - 76 points; Jordan Newland, Schuyler County 73; Megan Perry, North Shelby - 66; Jason Gass, Monroe City - 63; Peter Sherwood, Clark County - 63.

Clark County took home the title with SCR-I finishing second. North Shelby earned third place in the event followed by Monroe City in fourth.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone