November 28, 2002

Rockhold Labels 2002 A Success For Corn Growers

Nearly 80 members and guests joined the board members and staff of the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) for the organization's Annual

Meeting on November 17. MCGA leaders reviewed successes of the year 2002, reported on financial status, elected board members, and thanked MCGA supporters with awards and recognition. The MCGA Annual Meeting was held in conjunction with the Missouri Governor's Conference on Agriculture in Osage Beach.

Brent Rockhold, MCGA president from Arbela, summarized accomplishments of the association.

"In my opinion, the year 2002 was one of the most successful years in our twenty-five year history in terms of legislation passed," says Rockhold. "The Missouri Corn Growers Association joined others to lobby successfully for a new farm bill and trade promotion authority from Congress. We were also able to lay a good legislative foundation in the energy bill for a national renewable fuels standard that would nearly triple ethanol production over the next ten years.

"At the state level, MCGA successfully lobbied for an omnibus ag bill that improved the ethanol incentive program, banned MTBE because of drinking water concerns, and removed the requirement for mandatory generic ethanol fuel pump labels. Because of our work, Missouri farmers can expect more stability from farm programs, expanded foreign trade, and increased ethanol sales and production from Missouri farmer-owned ethanol plants."

Gary Marshall, MCGA CEO, puts the success in terms of return to producers.

"The Missouri legislation that passed means that St. Louis will likely use more than 100 million gallons of ethanol in 2003. Based on a common rule of thumb, that increased demand for ethanol will create an improvement in the

price of corn nationally by at least two cents per bushel. That may not sound like much, but on a nine billion bushel crop, the impact of work by MCGA is over $180 million annual return to U.S. corn farmers."

MCGA Award Winners:

Public Servant of the Year Awards - State Senator John Cauthorn (R-Mexico), State Senator Morris Westfall (R-Halfway), and State Rep. Bill

Ransdall (D-Waynesville) were recognized for their service to corn growers in 2002. Senator Cauthorn was instrumental in passage of the omnibus ag legislation. Senator Westfall worked for permanent funding of the state ethanol program. Representative Ransdall was an outspoken advocate for ethanol program funding in the current fiscal year.

MCGA Business Meeting:

In the business portion of the meeting, members approved the 2001 Annual Meeting minutes and the MCGA Treasurer's Report. MCGA members present also elected a new member to the MCGA board of directors: Kenny McNamar of Gorin to represent District 3 (Northeast MO).

Re-elected to the board to serve three-year terms were the following farmers: B.J. Bailey of Oregon to represent District 1 (Northwest MO), John Quinn of Chillicothe to represent District 2 (North-central MO), Paul Gross of Corder to represent District 4

(Southwest MO), and Jayne Glosemeyer of Marthasville to represent District 6 (East-central MO).

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a grassroots organization of over 1,500 farmer-members dedicated to increasing the profitability of corn production. For more information, call the Missouri Corn Hotline at (800) 827-4181, or visit Missouri Corn Online at

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone