October 17, 2002

Local Farmers Filling Leadership Roles In State Corn Organizations

October brings new leadership to the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council (MCMC) and the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA). While corn farmers across the state are busy with harvest, the new grower-members of the board of directors for the MCMC and the MCGA take office.

Missouri corn farmers elected their grower-leaders for Missouri Corn organizations through district elections held in July and the MCMC and MCGA boards of directors elected new officers in August.

The MCMC welcomes to the board of directors the following members elected to three-year terms:

Kenny McNamar, of Gorin, to represent District 3 (Northeast Missouri) and Paul Gross of Corder, to represent District 4 (Southwest Missouri).

Re-elected to the MCMC board were: B.J. Bailey of Oregon, to represent District 1 (Northwest Missouri);

John Quinn of Chillicothe, to represent District 2 (North-central Missouri); and Jayne Glosemeyer of Marthasville, to represent District 6 (East-central Missouri).

The MCMC is a producer elected organization of corn growers dedicated to the profitability of corn production by investing check-off dollars in development and expansion of corn markets, facilitating communication with growers and customers, and utilization research.

Producers may be elected to the MCMC board of directors for a maximum of three, three-year terms.

Retiring from the MCMC board is Frank Becker of Bowling Green. Becker, who served six years on the MCMC board, remains one of the MCGA representatives until the MCGA Annual Meeting in December. Becker served as MCGA Vice President in 2002.

As a corn grower and hog farmer, Becker has also been an important voice on the board representing farmers who feed their corn on-farm. Missouri corn farmers thank Frank Becker for his dedicated service to the organizations and industry.

Officers for the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council were elected at the MCMC board meeting in early August. The MCMC officers as of October 1, 2002 are: Chairman, Sam Creed of Fairfax; Vice Chairman, Don Arth of Malta Bend; Secretary, Mike Geske of Matthews; Treasurer, Terry Hilgedick of Hartsburg. Creed and Arth were re-elected for second terms, while Geske and Hilgedick were newly elected.

Officers were also chosen for the Missouri Corn Growers Association at an August board meeting. The MCGA officers as of October 1, 2002 are:

President, Brent Rockhold of Arbela; Vice President, B.J. Bailey of Oregon; Secretary/ Treasurer, Jayne Glosemeyer of Marthasville.

Rockhold was re-elected for a second term as MCGA president, while Bailey and Glosemeyer were newly elected to their positions.

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a grassroots organization of over 1,500 farmer-members dedicated to increasing the profitability of corn production through involvement in the political process.

The National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) recently announced appointments to the 2002-03 NCGA Action Teams (AT) and Committees. Missouri is well represented, with members on each of the four national Action Teams.

B.J. Bailey of Oregon was appointed to serve on the NCGA Grower Services AT. Jayne Glosemeyer of Marthasville was appointed to serve on the NCGA Production and Stewardship AT. Terry Hilgedick of Hartsburg was appointed to serve on the NCGA Public Policy AT. Sam Creed of Fairfax was re-appointed to serve on the NCGA Research and Business Development AT. In addition, Brent Rockhold of Arbela was appointed to serve on the NCGA Ethanol Committee.

Retiring from service on the NCGA Production and Stewardship AT was Ron McNeall of Keytesville.

For more information on MCMC and MCGA, visit Missouri Corn Online athttp://www.mocorn.org.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone