June 13, 2002

FEMA Offering Storm Aid For Public Entities

After more than 10 inches of rain during the month of May including a substantial storm of more than three inches in one 24-hour period, Scotland County has been added to the federal disaster aid list in Missouri.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has made funding available to assist local government and nonprofit organizations make repairs caused by the rains and floods in late April and May.

The Public Assistance/ Infrastructure Program provides federal funds to reimburse costs up to 75 percent for removing debris, conducting emergency activities and repairing levees, roads, bridges, utility and water control facilities, public buildings, and parks.

Government entities eligible to participate include state agencies, local government, river authorities and Indian tribal organizations.

Eligible nonprofit organ-izations must have a tax-exempt ruling from the Internal Revenue Service or a nonprofit certification from the state. Eligible groups include educational, utilities, emergency, medical, rehabilitation, and temporary and permanent custodial care facilities. Also museums, zoos, community centers, libraries, sheltered workshops, homeless shelters, and any health and safety service of a government nature may be eligible.

In addition to Scotland County the following counties have been designated eligible for the program: Adair, Barry, Barton, Bollinger, Butler, Carroll, Carter, Cedar, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, DeKalb, Dent, Grundy, Howard, Howell, Iron, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Macon, Madison, Maries, Marion, McDonald, Mercer, Miller, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Pike, Polk, Pulaski, Ralls, Ray, Reynolds, Ripley, Schuyler, Shannon, Shelby, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Sullivan, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Wayne, Webster and Wright.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone