May 31, 2001

Local Driver Continues Strong Run At Lee County Speedway

by Brent Rosencrans

With overcast skies and occasional sprinkles, the action on the track kept fans sticking around for Friday Night Thunder at the Lee County Speedway. Promoter Terry Hoenig kept the show moving along, with the final checkers flying around 9:45. When the dust had settled at the 3/8 mile "D" shaped oval, several stories had emerged.

Lynn Monroe and Jim Gillenwater made up the front row for the 20 lap "A" modified main event. Monroe piloted his #21M out front, using the high side to stretch things out early. However, many eyes were focused on hotshots Tom Goble and Hank "the Crank" Delonjay as they battled their way through the field from inside rows 5 and 6 respectively.

A mid-race caution changed the complexion of the event. With Monroe still out in front, Gillenwater second, then Dennis LaVeine third, LaVeine and Gillenwater made contact coming off turn four and Gillenwater slid back in the pack as Mark Burgtorf, Goble, and Delonjay made their way past. Another caution on lap 15 wiped out Monroe's lead, setting up a final dash to the finish.

On the restart, Goble quickly worked underneath Burgtorf for second, then darted past Monroe en route to his second win of the season at LCS. The "Silver Fox" hung on for second, with Delonjay, Burgtorf, and LaVeine rounding out the top five. Goble, LaVeine, and Monroe won the three A modified heats.

Heat 1

1st - #69 Tom Goble / Burlington, IA

2nd - # 35 Henry Delonjay / Quincy, IL

3rd - #31 Cory Richards / Burlington, IA

4th - #82 Ryan Meyer / Liberty, IL

5th - #74 Pete Hutzel / Marshalltown, IA

6th - #2 Bruce Thuleen / Denmark, IA

7th - #14 Boone McLaughlin / Mediapolis, IA

Heat 2

1st - #71 Dennis LaVeine / IA

2nd - #10 Jim Gillenwater / Keokuk, IA

3rd - #69m Mark Burgtorf / Lancaster

4th - #45 Tony Fraise / Montrose, IA

5th - #11R Jimmy Gustin / Marshalltown, IA

6th - #21 Jeff Gerhardt / Niota, IL

7th - BJ Fraise / IA

Heat 3

1st - #21M Lynn Monroe / Memphis

2nd - #4B Scott Boles / Mt. Pleasant, IA

3rd - #33 Paul Lawson / Ft. Madison, IA

4th - #18 Michael Long / Canton

5th - #11 Mike Hughes / Rose Hill, IA

6th - #D1 Darrow Lillie / Burlington, IA

7th - #105 Kevin Peters / Monmouth, IL

A Feature

1st Goble; 2nd Monroe; 3rd Delonjay; 4th Burgtorf; 5th LaVeine; 6th Gillenwater; 7th Fraise; 8th Gerhardt; 9th Hughes; 10th Lawson; 11th Long; 12th Richards; 13th Meyer; 14th Boles; 15th Thuleen; 16th Lillie; 17th Hutzel; 18th Gustin; 19th Fraise; 20th McLaughlin; 21st Lamb.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone