October 4, 2001

Rockhold Begins Term As Missouri Corn Growers President

While corn farmers across the state are busy with harvest, the new grower-members of the board of directors for the Missouri Corn Growers Association as well as the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council take office and the elected officers assume their leadership positions.

October 1st brings new leadership to the Missouri Corn Growers Association (MCGA) and the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council (MCMC).

Brent Rockhold of Arbela began his term as President of the MCGA. He was chosen for the position at the organizations August meeting. Rockhold is the past chairman of the MCMC and has been a strong leader in both organizations seeking to further the interests of the state's corn producers.

Joining Rockhold on the 2001-2002 slate of officers are Vice President, Frank Becker of Bowling Green and Secretary/ Treasurer, Dale Conner of Essex.

The Missouri Corn Growers Association is a grassroots organization of nearly 1,400 farmer-members dedicated to increasing the profitability of corn production through involvement in the political process.

Missouri corn farmers elect their grower-leaders for Missouri Corn organizations through district elections held in July.

The MCMC welcomed to the board of directors the following new members: Keith Witt of Warrenton to represent District 6 (East-central Missouri) and Mike Geske of Matthews to represent District 7 (Southeast Missouri).

Re-elected to the MCMC board were Sam Creed of Fairfax to represent District 1 (Northwest Missouri); Ron McNeall of Keytesville to represent District 2 (North-central Missouri); and Don Arth of Malta Bend to represent District 5 (Central Missouri).

The Missouri Corn Merchandising Council is a producer elected organization of corn growers dedicated to the profitability of corn production by investing check-off dollars in development and expansion of corn markets, facilitating communication with growers and customers, and utilization research. Producers may be elected to the MCMC board of directors for a maximum of three, three-year terms.

Retiring from the MCMC board are Don Fischer of Corder, and Randy Jennings of Bernie. Fischer resigned from the board effective September 1, to avoid any conflict of interest after he was appointed state Farm Service Agency committee chairman by the United States Department of Agriculture. When appointed by USDA, Fischer was serving as MCGA president and nearly finished his fifth year on the MCMC board of directors. Fisher also served as the organization's first president in 1978.

Jennings, who served six years on the MCMC board, remains one of the MCGA representatives for District 7 until the MCGA Annual Meeting in December. Jennings served as MCGA president in 2000 and also served for the previous three years on the 15-member board of directors for the National Corn Growers Association.

New officers for the Missouri Corn Merchandising Council were elected at the MCMC board meeting in early August. The new MCMC officers as of October 1, 2001 are: Chairman, Sam Creed of Fairfax; Vice Chairman, Don Arth of Malta Bend; Secretary, B.J. Bailey of Oregon; Treasurer, Jayne Glosemeyer of Marthasville.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone