June 21, 2001

AmerenUE and Lewis County Rural Electric Cooperative Request Approval For Customer Transfer

AmerenUE and Lewis County Rural Electric Cooperative (LCREC) have filed a joint request with the Missouri Public Service Commission (PSC) for approval to transfer approximately 550 AmerenUE customers in seven northeast Missouri communities to LCREC. The customers are located in Durham, Maywood, Novelty, Monticello, Medill, Arbela and Granger. Under the proposal, AmerenUE would also sell some electrical distribution facilities in the area to LCREC.

Officials of AmerenUE and LCREC say the transfer of customers and facilities is necessary to enable both utilities to operate more efficiently and provide for orderly growth. The transfer request follows a territorial agreement between the two utilities that the PSC approved last July. That agreement established service area boundaries between AmerenUE and LCREC in Lewis, Clark, Shelby, Knox, Adair, Scotland and Marion counties.

All customers who would be affected by the transfer were notified of the proposal in March. The utilities held public workshops at three locations in the area to give customers and community officials an opportunity to ask questions and comment on the proposal. Based on the comments received, two communities that were included in the original transfer proposal - Ewing and Newark --were dropped from the current request.

With headquarters in Lewistown, Lewis County Rural Electric Cooperative serves more than 6,200 members throughout northeast Missouri. AmerenUE is a subsidiary of St. Louis-based Ameren Corporation. Ameren companies serve 1.5 million electric customers and 300,000 natural gas customers over a 44,500-square-mile area of Missouri and Illinois.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone