May 24, 2001

Governor Requests Farm Disaster Aid For Local Counties

Gov. Bob Holden has asked U.S. Agriculture Secretary Ann Veneman to declare 12 northeastern Missouri counties eligible for federal disaster assistance because of recent heavy rain and flooding that has swamped fields.

"Continued high water levels in the upper reaches of the Mississippi River coupled with heavy rains experienced over the weekend of May 12-13 have inundated large areas of crop land in these counties," Holden said in a letter to Veneman.

Counties included in Holden's request are Clark, Lewis, Scotland, Knox, Schuyler, Marion, Monroe, Shelby, Ralls, Pike, Lincoln and St. Charles.

If granted, the disaster declaration would make farmers in the affected counties eligible to apply for low-interest loans that could be used to restore or replace property, cover all or part of production costs this year, pay essential family living expenses, reorganize farming operations and refinance debt.

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone